F
FranchiseChuno
Sign InCreate AccountList Your Franchise
Jio-bp

Jio-bp Franchise

Automobile & EVEst. 2020Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra

Reliance–bp fuel JV with 2,050+ Mobility Stations. Dealer-owned petrol pump: ₹82 L–₹2.8 Cr construction, own land, 30-year tenure.

Jio-bp franchise at a glance (terms checked Sept 2026)

Dealers / distributors onlyModels: Dealer · OtherTerms checked Sept 2026

Investment

₹82 L - ₹2.8 Cr

Partly published by the brand · incl. fit-out, equipment · excl. land, working capital, fee, stock · + GST · Above the category (typical ₹33.75 L–₹1.22 Cr, median ₹37.5 L, 7 verified brands)

Ongoing take

Not published

Franchise fee

No franchise fee

Application fee: ₹5K · Documentation and processing charges: ₹1.5 L · Security deposit — 1 dispenser unit: ₹10 L — refundable · Security deposit — 2 dispenser units: ₹23.5 L — refundable · Security deposit — 3 dispenser units: ₹28 L — refundable · Security deposit — 4 dispenser units: ₹33 L — refundable · Construction (highway): ₹1.51 Cr · Construction (city): ₹1.16 Cr · Construction (other roads): ₹82 L · Working capital, statutory approvals and site-specific costs applies (amount not disclosed) · Partly refundable

Payback

Not published

67Strong · provisionalFranchiseChuno Score · 51% of data verified
  • 2 disputes brought by franchisees
  • Legal or regulatory action on record — see Reputation & News
  • Profit or loss: Profit of ₹1851.8 Cr in FY26
  • Revenue trend: +28% revenue FY25→FY26
  • Company standing: Active and up to date with the registrar

Franchisor strength isn't franchisee profit — check real outlet numbers.

Outlets

2,050 (brand claim)

What we couldn't verify

  • • Outlet closures
  • • Franchisee satisfaction
  • • Outlet claim matches reality
  • • Network growth

Ask before you sign

  1. Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. Ask for every upfront payment in writing — deposit, onboarding, equipment or stock — and which parts are refundable.
  3. Ask exactly how your margin or commission is calculated, when it's paid, and whether the brand can change it.

Franchise terms checked against Jio-bp's official dealership brochure (Mobility Station) on 27 Sept 2026. Figures marked * aren't published by the brand — they come from other published sources or our own estimate, and aren't verified.

Investment Breakdown

Per franchisor
Application fee
₹5K

Inclusive of GST; paid with the expression of interest.

Documentation and processing charges+ GST
₹1.5 L – ₹3 L

₹1.5 L or ₹3 L + 18% GST (₹1.77 L / ₹3.54 L) depending on the approved model; returned if not selected, non-refundable once the LOI is issued.

Security deposit — 1 dispenser unitDepositRefundable
₹10 L

Non-interest-bearing.

Security deposit — 2 dispenser unitsDepositRefundable
₹23.5 L

Non-interest-bearing.

Security deposit — 3 dispenser unitsDepositRefundable
₹28 L

Non-interest-bearing.

Security deposit — 4 dispenser unitsDepositRefundable
₹33 L – ₹34 L

₹33 L (city) / ₹34 L (highway); non-interest-bearing.

Construction (highway)
₹1.51 Cr – ₹2.8 Cr
Construction (city)
₹1.16 Cr – ₹2.24 Cr
Construction (other roads)
₹82 L – ₹1.4 Cr
Working capital, statutory approvals and site-specific costsWorking capital
Amount not disclosed

Extra; not quantified by Jio-bp.

Total Investment₹4.45 Cr – ₹7.43 Cr

Total excludes a charge whose amount Jio-bp doesn't disclose.

Includes ₹94.5 L refundable — money you get back when the agreement ends.

Model your own numbers in our calculator

Open the ROI calculator

* Breakdown as published by Jio-bp. Jio-bp confirms one charge without disclosing the amount — get it in writing before you pay.

Ways to Partner with Jio-bp

5 partner models published by the brand. Figures it doesn't publish are left blank.

Dealership

Mobility Station — highway (NH/SH)

Investment
₹1.51 Cr – ₹2.8 Cr
Space
13,186 sq ft – 47,598 sq ft
Territory
Not stated in the dealership terms (partners page mentions 'exclusivity within a trading area'; size not published)

Construction cost only. Land 1,225–4,422 sq m (35×35 m to 66×67 m); land, security deposit, processing charges, working capital and approvals are extra.

Dealership

Mobility Station — city

Investment
₹1.16 Cr – ₹2.24 Cr
Space
4,306 sq ft – 21,754 sq ft
Territory
Not stated in the dealership terms (partners page mentions 'exclusivity within a trading area'; size not published)

Construction cost only. Land 400–2,021 sq m (20×20 m to 47×43 m).

Dealership

Mobility Station — other roads (MDR/rural/agri)

Investment
₹82 L – ₹1.4 Cr
Space
12,917 sq ft – 17,222 sq ft
Territory
Not stated in the dealership terms (partners page mentions 'exclusivity within a trading area'; size not published)

Construction cost only. Land 1,200–1,600 sq m (40×30 m to 40×40 m).

Partner model

Mobile Dispenser Unit (MDU)

Investment
—
Space
—
Territory
—

Doorstep diesel delivery to industrial sites, enterprises and logistics hubs. Terms not published.

Partner model

EV charging station (Jio-bp pulse)

Investment
—
Space
—
Territory
—

EV charging partnership. Terms not published.

Our Estimates

FranchiseChuno estimate

Jio-bp doesn't publish these, so here is our best read of the market and how we got there. They are our estimates, not the brand's figures — use them to plan, then confirm the real numbers in writing.

  • All-in cash for a Jio-bp Mobility Station, excluding land

    ₹1.1–3.6 Cr*

    Adds Jio-bp's published construction cost (₹82 L–₹2.80 Cr by location), the refundable security deposit (₹10–34 L) and processing charges (₹1.77–3.54 L) to our allowance for what the brochure leaves out: opening fuel stock and working capital of roughly ₹15–30 L (a few days of sales, since fuel is paid for upfront) and statutory approvals of ₹3–10 L. Land, which you must own or lease long-term, is extra.

    Unit-economics model · Sep 2026

  • Dealer commission income per month (before costs)

    ₹4–9 L*

    Jio-bp doesn't publish its dealer commission. Public-sector oil companies pay dealers about ₹3–4 a litre on petrol and ₹2–3 on diesel (Business Today, Mar 2026); we assume Jio-bp is in the same band. At a typical 150–250 kilolitres a month and a blended ₹2.5–3.5 a litre, commission comes to about ₹4–9 L a month. Café, lubricants and EV charging income are extra and not included.

    Adjusted from reports · Sep 2026

  • Dealer operating profit per month

    ₹1–4 L*

    Takes the ₹4–9 L commission estimate and subtracts typical running costs of ₹2.5–4.5 L a month: 10–16 staff, electricity and DG diesel, card and UPI charges, maintenance, security and compliance. Low-volume rural sites can be close to break-even; busy highway sites can do better. Before any loan interest or the return on your land.

    Unit-economics model · Sep 2026

Reputation & News

2 red flags to check

What the press, courts and real franchisees or customers have said about Jio-bp — summarised by us, with every source linked.

⚠ Scam alert

Businessman loses ₹84.5 L to fake 'Jio petrol pump dealership' agents

A Jamkhed (Maharashtra) businessman paid about ₹84.5 L to people who promised him a 'Jio' petrol pump dealership and kept demanding money for approvals, processing fees and deposits. Cyber police registered a case against two accused. The fraud used the brand's name; Jio-bp itself was not accused.

Source: Jamkhed Times

⚠ Scam alert

Jio-bp warns of fake dealership agents and websites

Jio-bp says it has authorised no agents or brokers, that its Field Managers carry a company ID card and visit only after a complete application, and that offering bribes leads to disqualification.

Source: Jio-bp disclaimer and dealership brochure (the brand's own site)
  • Legal / regulatory· Aug 2026

    Court disputes with dealers and dealer-landowners

    As 20-year land leases on older Reliance pumps expire, Jio-bp has been in court with several former dealers who own the land: in Gujarat (Aug 2026, the High Court upheld restoring a Jetpur site to Jio-bp after the landowners took it back), Maharashtra (Warora, now in the Supreme Court), Tamil Nadu (Erode, Tiruppur, Gudiyattam) and Telangana (Mancherial). A Madurai dealer whose supply Jio-bp stopped in 2022 lost its writ in 2024 because Jio-bp, as a private company, isn't subject to writ jurisdiction. No final ruling on lease renewal was found.

    Source: Gujarat, Bombay, Madras and Telangana High Court and Supreme Court orders (Indian Kanoon)
  • In the news· May 2022

    Jio-bp nearly halved fuel supply to its dealers in 2022

    Losing ₹10–12 a litre on diesel while pump prices were held, Reliance nearly halved supply to its dealers from 16 Mar 2022 and had not fully restored it two months later; Business Standard, citing The Economic Times, reported the company was drawing up a compensation plan to avoid outlet closures.

    Source: Business Standard
  • In the news· Feb 2025

    Jio-bp targets 30,000 EV charging points by 2030

    Jio-bp plans to scale its EV charging network to over 30,000 points by 2030, from about 5,000 points at 500 stations in September 2024, placing chargers at malls, offices, hotels, airports and housing societies.

    Source: Inc42
  • In the news· Apr 2026

    Jio-bp holds pump prices as fuel volumes rise

    CEO Akshay Wadhwa kept retail petrol and diesel prices unchanged despite a spike in crude prices; March 2026 petrol volumes were reported up about 30% and diesel about 25% year on year. The same report noted claims of per-visit purchase caps at some stations during supply disruptions.

    Source: Whalesbook
Show 3 more
  • In the news· Dec 2025

    Jio-bp and IndusInd Bank launch co-branded fuel credit card

    The Mobility+ RuPay credit card gives reward points and fuel benefits at Jio-bp stations. The announcement described the network as 2,050+ Mobility Stations.

    Source: Jio-bp newsroom (the brand's own site)
  • In the news· Apr 2026

    Jio-bp outlets cap sales at ₹1,000 a visit in 2026 supply crunch

    During the disruption to shipping through the Strait of Hormuz, operators of Jio-bp pumps began limiting purchases to ₹1,000 per visit, according to people familiar with the matter; the company issued no formal directive.

    Source: Hindustan Times
  • In the news· Jun 2025

    Adani Total Gas and Jio-bp agree to sell each other's fuels

    Select Adani Total stations will dispense Jio-bp petrol and diesel, and some Jio-bp outlets will add Adani Total CNG dispensers where Adani holds gas distribution rights. The report put Jio-bp's network at around 2,000 outlets.

    Source: Siliconindia

Key Terms at Jio-bp

The clauses that shape day-to-day running and your exit — read these before the fee.

Renewal
The lease and dealership tenure is 30 years.
Territory
Territory isn't a written dealership term: the partners page lists 'exclusivity of operation within a trading area' as a benefit, but the brochure has no territory clause and no area size.
Other terms
A 2022 Jio-bp operatorship agreement quoted by the Bombay High Court sends disputes to a sole arbitrator nominated by Jio-bp, with Mumbai as the place of arbitration; in Jul 2024 the court appointed an arbitrator on Jio-bp's own application after the operator didn't respond.
Because Jio-bp is a private company, the Madras High Court held in Oct 2024 that a dealer's writ petition against it is not maintainable; dealers have to use arbitration or the civil courts, unlike dealers of public-sector oil companies.
Exit
On older Reliance pumps the dealer-landowner leased the land to the company for 20 years alongside the dealership. The 2005 leases quoted in court (clause 3(viii)) say that if the company gives notice before expiry, the landowner shall grant a renewed lease for the same term. As those leases expire, Jio-bp has gone to court to enforce renewal or protect its possession where landowners refused (Gujarat HC 2026; Bombay HC and Madras HC 2025).
Other terms
The brochure says the dealership is a business proposition with normal business risks and no assured returns or profits.
Penalties
Offering bribes or inducements may lead to immediate disqualification of the application and legal action.
Other terms
Clause 25 of a Reliance dealership agreement quoted by the Madras High Court requires the dealer, or a majority of the partners, to be ordinarily resident in India and personally run the outlet; Jio-bp stopped supplying one dealer in 2022 after the firm was reconstituted without its consent. The brochure also bars NRIs from applying as proprietors.

Legal & Contract Summary

Key contract terms at a glance — read before you sign.

Agreement Type

Dealership

You buy and resell the brand's products

Contract Duration

30 years

Renewal Available

—

Territory Exclusivity

—

Non-Compete Clause

—

Exit Clause

—

Who Can Apply for Jio-bp

Conditions the brand sets for partners, and the licences the business needs.

  • Who can apply: Individuals, proprietors, partnership firms, private and public limited companiesRequired
  • NRIs: Can't apply as proprietors; may apply through a partnership firm with Indian residents as majority partnersRequired
  • Not eligible: Existing dealers of any other oil marketing company, and anyone convicted of a criminal offenceRequired
  • Documents: CA-certified net-worth statement with UDIN, PAN, Aadhaar, education certificate, land title/mutation documentsRequired
  • Land: Own or long-term leased land, leased to Jio-bp for the 30-year tenure; highway land must abut a prominent NH/SH with at least 35 m frontageRequired
  • Site distance norms: No toll plaza, check barrier or level crossing within 1,000 m; 50 m clear of schools, hospitals, homes, temples and water bodies; no overhead power lines across the plot; no side or rear access to other facilitiesRequired
  • Selection: First come, first served; where applications compete, a committee picks the most suitable candidatePreferred

Licences & registrations

LicenceIssued byWho gets it
District Magistrate NOCTo be obtained within 90 days of the Letter of Intent—You
PESO petroleum licenceTo be obtained within 90 days of the Letter of Intent—You
NH/PWD access permissionTo be obtained within 90 days of the Letter of Intent—You
Electricity connectionTo be obtained within 90 days of the Letter of Intent—You
Water connectionTo be obtained within 90 days of the Letter of Intent—You
Building approvalTo be obtained within 90 days of the Letter of Intent—You
Weights & measures (legal metrology) certificationTo be obtained within 90 days of the Letter of Intent—You

About the Brand

Brand USP

Fuel with ACTIVE-technology additives at no extra cost, plus EV charging and convenience retail under one Reliance–bp brand.

Parent CompanyReliance BP Mobility Limited — joint venture of Reliance Industries (51%) and bp (49%)
HeadquartersNavi Mumbai, Maharashtra
Jio-bp is the fuel and mobility brand of Reliance BP Mobility Limited (RBML), a joint venture in which Reliance Industries holds 51% and bp holds 49%. The joint venture began operations in July 2020, and Jio-bp describes its network as 2,050+ Mobility Stations across India (December 2025) selling petrol and diesel with ACTIVE-technology additives, alongside EV charging (Jio-bp pulse), CNG at select sites and convenience retail. A Jio-bp petrol pump is a dealer-owned, dealer-operated (DODO) Mobility Station: the dealer brings the land and builds the station to company specification. Jio-bp puts the construction cost at ₹82 L–₹1.40 Cr on other roads, ₹1.16–2.24 Cr in cities and ₹1.51–2.80 Cr on highways, with land of roughly 400–4,422 sq m depending on the location. On top of that come a non-refundable ₹5,000 application fee, documentation and processing charges of ₹1.77 L or ₹3.54 L (incl. GST) depending on the model, returned only if you aren't selected, and a refundable, non-interest-bearing security deposit of ₹10 L (1 dispenser) up to ₹33–34 L (4 dispensers). The dealership and lease tenure is 30 years; statutory NOCs are expected within 90 days and commissioning within 180 days of the Letter of Intent. Jio-bp does not publish dealer commissions, expected revenue, ROI or payback figures, and it states that the business carries normal business risks with no assured returns. Working capital, statutory approval costs and other site-specific costs are extra and are not quantified. Its partners page mentions 'exclusivity of operation within a trading area', but the dealership brochure has no territory clause and doesn't say how large that area would be. The franchisor's own results have swung. In March 2022, losing ₹10–12 a litre on diesel while pump prices were held, Jio-bp nearly halved fuel supply to its dealers (Business Standard, May 2022); filings show a loss of about ₹925 Cr in FY23, with revenue down about 64%. It has been profitable since FY24 (₹1,852 Cr net profit in FY26), but that is the company's profit, not a dealer's: check real outlet numbers with existing Jio-bp dealers. During a supply crunch in Apr 2026, Hindustan Times reported Jio-bp outlets capping sales at ₹1,000 a visit. Court records add context. Jio-bp's agreements send disputes to arbitration in Mumbai; a 2022 operatorship agreement let the company nominate the sole arbitrator. Because Jio-bp is a private company, the Madras High Court held in 2024 that a dealer's writ petition against it isn't maintainable. As 20-year land leases on older Reliance pumps signed in 2004–05 expire, Jio-bp has gone to court in Gujarat, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu and Telangana to renew leases or keep sites where dealer-landowners refused; several matters, one of them in the Supreme Court, are still pending (2025–26). In 2025 the National Green Tribunal said a new Jio-bp outlet in Kozhikode shouldn't be allowed at its site; Jio-bp's appeal is pending. Fraudsters have also sold fake 'Jio petrol pump dealerships'; Jio-bp says it uses no agents or brokers.

Why invest in Jio-bp?

- Backed by Reliance Industries (51%) and bp (49%); filings show the franchisor's FY26 revenue of ₹65,208 Cr and net profit of ₹1,852 Cr (company figures, not dealer earnings) - Published, location-wise construction cost (₹82 L–₹2.80 Cr) and a refundable security deposit of ₹10–34 L by station size - 30-year dealership and lease tenure, with written deadlines of 90 days for NOCs and 180 days for commissioning from the Letter of Intent

Jio-bp by the Numbers

Source marked on each figure

2,050+

Mobility Stations · Dec 2025

Brand claim

Reliance Industries 51% · bp 49%

Ownership · Mar 2026

Company filing

9 Jul 2020

Joint venture began · Jul 2020

Brand claim

DODO — dealer owned, dealer operated

Dealer model · Sep 2026

Brand claim

30 years

Dealership tenure · Sep 2026

Brand claim

Cities with Outlets

Show all 52 cities
Visakhapatnam, Andhra PradeshGuntur, Andhra PradeshSilchar, AssamDibrugarh, AssamGaya, BiharMuzaffarpur, BiharRaipur, ChhattisgarhBhilai, ChhattisgarhBilaspur, ChhattisgarhAhmedabad, GujaratSurat, GujaratVadodara, GujaratRajkot, GujaratPanipat, HaryanaRanchi, JharkhandDhanbad, JharkhandBangalore, KarnatakaMysuru, KarnatakaMangaluru, KarnatakaHubballi, KarnatakaKochi, KeralaKozhikode, KeralaThrissur, KeralaBhopal, Madhya PradeshIndore, Madhya PradeshJabalpur, Madhya PradeshGwalior, Madhya PradeshNagpur, MaharashtraNashik, MaharashtraChhatrapati Sambhajinagar, MaharashtraNavi Mumbai, MaharashtraDimapur, NagalandLudhiana, PunjabMohali, PunjabJaipur, RajasthanKota, RajasthanChennai, Tamil NaduCoimbatore, Tamil NaduMadurai, Tamil NaduTiruchirappalli, Tamil NaduSalem, Tamil NaduHyderabad, TelanganaWarangal, TelanganaLucknow, Uttar PradeshVaranasi, Uttar PradeshAgra, Uttar PradeshGhaziabad, Uttar PradeshMeerut, Uttar PradeshDehradun, UttarakhandDurgapur, West BengalSilvassa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDelhi, Delhi

Cities with Outlets

52 cities
Has an outlet
Major city, no outlet listed
Click a city to explore

Company Financials

Brand-level, publicly reported

The franchisor's own company health — separate from what a single franchise outlet earns.

Revenue (FY26)

₹65208.39 Cr

Net profit (FY26)

₹1851.84 Cr

Employees (Aug 2025)

1,898

Source: Tracxn — Jio-bp (Reliance BP Mobility Limited), FY26 financials (from company filings)

Source: Tracxn — Jio-bp, funding and headcount (Sep 2026)

A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.

Company Health Check

What Jio-bp's franchisor company has filed with the registrar and the courts — the checks a lawyer would run before you sign.

Status with the registrar
Active
Annual filings
Up to date
Last AGM
27 Jun 2025
Auditor
Deloitte Haskins & Sells LLP

Group companies

  • Reliance Industries LimitedHolding company · 51%
  • BP Global Investments Limited (bp group)shareholder · 49%
  • RBML Solutions India LimitedSubsidiary · 100%

Source: Tracxn — Reliance BP Mobility Ltd MCA filings (compliance status updated 16 Dec 2025; checked 27 Sep 2026) (checked Dec 2025)

Full company recordsFinancials year by year, registered details, leadership and timelineShow

Jio-bp Financials Over Time

Figures for the brand, from filed or reported accounts.

FY20
₹1.8 Cr
Loss ₹1.88 Cr
FY21
₹27477.73 Cr▲ 1523309%
Profit ₹628.31 Cr
FY22
₹42593.55 Cr▲ 55%
Profit ₹340.04 Cr
FY23
₹15235.36 Cr▼ 64%
Loss ₹925.03 Cr
FY24
₹38490.32 Cr▲ 153%
Profit ₹1024.5 Cr
FY25
₹51067.48 Cr▲ 33%
Profit ₹1746.87 Cr
FY26
₹65208.39 Cr▲ 28%
Profit ₹1851.84 Cr

Source: Tracxn — Reliance BP Mobility Ltd (MCA filings)

A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.

Company Profile

The legal entity behind the brand, its leadership, and its official channels.

Registered name
Reliance BP Mobility Limited
Company type
Public Limited (Unlisted)
CIN
U50100MH2015PLC327401
Incorporated
23 Mar 2015
Headquarters
Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra

Leadership

  • AAkshay WadhwaCEO
  • SSarthak BehuriaChairman

Social presence

InstagramLinkedInYouTubeFacebookX

Company details source: Tracxn — company filings

Jio-bp Timeline

  1. 23 Mar 2015

    Reliance BP Mobility Limited incorporated

    Registered as a public limited company in Maharashtra.

    Source
  2. 9 Jul 2020

    Jio-bp joint venture begins operations

    bp paid Reliance $1 billion for a 49% stake; the JV started with 1,400+ retail sites and aimed for up to 5,500.

    Source
  3. 26 Oct 2021

    First Jio-bp Mobility Station opens

    Opened at Navde, Navi Mumbai; the existing 1,400+ pumps were to be rebranded Jio-bp.

  4. Mar 2022

    Fuel supply to dealers nearly halved

    Amid losses on diesel while pump prices were held; FY23 accounts show a ₹925 Cr loss.

    Source
  5. Feb 2025

    30,000 EV charging point target

    Plan to grow from about 5,000 charging points to 30,000+ by 2030.

    Source
  6. Jun 2025

    Fuel-sharing tie-up with Adani Total Gas

    Each to sell the other's fuels at select outlets.

    Source
  7. Dec 2025

    Network passes 2,050 Mobility Stations

    Stated at the launch of the IndusInd Bank Jio-bp Mobility+ credit card.

FranchiseChuno Analysis

Our analysis of verified data

How Jio-bp looks once the numbers are checked side by side.

  • •Investment above the Automobile & EV medianMidpoint ₹181 L vs a category median of ₹37.5 L across brands on FranchiseChuno.
  • ✓The franchisor company is profitableIts latest filed accounts show a net profit. That's the franchisor's money, not yours: a profitable franchisor doesn't mean its franchisees make money. Check real outlet numbers before you invest.
  • ✓Brand operating for 6 yearsFounded in 2020. The brand doesn't state when franchising began.
  • !2 red flags in the news or public discussionSee Reputation & News below, and ask the brand to address each one.

Data completeness

64%

  • ✓ Terms checked against the brand's own page
  • ✓ Published investment (not an estimate)
  • ○ Franchise fee
  • ○ Royalty
  • ○ ROI or payback claim
  • ✓ Agreement term
  • ○ Training details
  • ✓ Outlet cities verified
  • ✓ Company financials
  • ✓ Legal entity
  • ✓ News & public opinion checked

Ask Before You Sign

Questions tailored to what Jio-bp does and doesn't publish.

  1. 1Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. 2Ask for every upfront payment in writing — deposit, onboarding, equipment or stock — and which parts are refundable.
  3. 3Ask exactly how your margin or commission is calculated, when it's paid, and whether the brand can change it.
  4. 4Ask whether you get an exclusive territory, and how large it is.
  5. 5Ask the brand to respond to each red flag listed under Reputation & News.
  6. 6Have a lawyer review the franchise agreement before paying anything.
  7. 7Visit 2–3 existing outlets and speak to their owners without the brand present.
Running the outletSpace, staff, launch steps, training, support and who does whatShow

Operations Required

What you'll need on the ground to run this franchise day-to-day.

Area Required

4,306 - 47,598 sq ft

Staff Needed

—

Setup Time

180 days

Owner Involvement

—

Best Locations

Not published

Business Type

Not published

From First Call to Launch

~26 weeks

Jio-bp's onboarding process, step by step.

  1. 1

    Expression of interest

    The process opens with an expression of interest and a non-refundable ₹5,000 application fee (incl. GST).

  2. 2

    Documents

    A CA-certified net-worth statement (with UDIN), KYC and land title documents are required within 15 days of registration.

  3. 3

    Field Manager meeting

    A Jio-bp Field Manager (who must show a company ID card) meets the applicant; documents are evaluated.

  4. 4

    Final interview

    Interaction with an inter-disciplinary selection committee; processing charges (₹1.77 L or ₹3.54 L by demand draft) are submitted before this interview and refunded if not selected.

  5. 5

    Letter of Intent

    Selected candidates receive an LOI and pay the refundable security deposit as per its terms.

  6. 6

    Approvals

    Obtain all statutory NOCs within 90 days of the LOI; dealership and lease agreements are then executed.

  7. 7

    Construction and commissioning

    Complete construction and commission the station within 180 days of the LOI.

Training & Support

What the brand provides to help you launch and run your franchise.

Operations Manual

Step-by-step playbook for running the outlet

Not published

Supply Chain Support

Vendor sourcing, inventory & logistics

Not published

Technology / POS

Billing, inventory, and management software

Not published

Marketing Support

National & local marketing campaigns

Not included

Launch Support

Pre-opening setup and grand-opening assistance

Not published

Ongoing Field Support

Regular visits and operational coaching

Not published

Who Does What

Per franchisor

How Jio-bp splits the work between the brand and you, as the brand describes it.

Jio-bp

Handled centrally by the brand

  1. 1

    Selection and site assessment

    Field Manager meeting, document evaluation, site verification, legal land inspection and structural feasibility checks, then a final interview with an inter-disciplinary committee.

  2. 2

    Commissioning

    Commission the retail outlet and open it to the public once approvals and construction are complete.

You (franchisee)

Your local responsibilities

  1. 1

    Land

    Provide clear-title or long-term leased land meeting Jio-bp's frontage, depth and statutory distance norms.

  2. 2

    Build the station

    Develop the land and build entry/exit, driveway, boundary wall, sales office, toilet, canopy, DG set, air compressor and tyre inflator to company specification.

  3. 3

    Statutory approvals

    Apply for and obtain all NOCs and licences (DM NOC, PESO, NH/PWD, electricity, water, building approval, weights & measures) within 90 days of the Letter of Intent.

  4. 4

    Operations and upkeep

    Maintain fire-safety equipment, clean drinking water, clean toilets and horticulture at the station.

Ongoing Support

Jio-bp's partners page lists structured dealership models and diversified revenue streams (fuel, EV charging and café offerings).

What Jio-bp franchisees say

We haven't yet heard from enough Jio-bp franchisees to show anything. We publish totals once 3 or more people who run an outlet have answered and we've called each one to check.

I run a Jio-bp outlet — share how it went

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the total investment for a Jio-bp franchise?
Jio-bp states an investment of ₹82 lakh–₹280 lakh. Construction cost only, as published by Jio-bp; land, the refundable security deposit, processing charges, working capital and statutory approval costs are extra.
Which Jio-bp dealership payments are refundable?
The ₹5,000 application fee isn't. The documentation and processing charges (₹1.77 L or ₹3.54 L including GST) are returned if you aren't selected but become non-refundable once the Letter of Intent is issued. The security deposit of ₹10–34 L, depending on the number of dispensers, is refundable but earns no interest.
Do I need my own land for a Jio-bp petrol pump?
Yes. Jio-bp's model is dealer-owned, dealer-operated: you bring owned or long-term leased land that meets its size, frontage and distance norms, and the lease and dealership run for 30 years. Highway plots need at least 35 m frontage and must be 1,000 m from toll plazas and level crossings.
How much commission does a Jio-bp dealer earn per litre?
Jio-bp doesn't publish its dealer commission, and its brochure says there are no assured returns. For comparison, Business Today reported in Mar 2026 that public-sector oil companies pay dealers about ₹3–4 a litre on petrol and ₹2–3 on diesel. Our estimate on this page assumes Jio-bp pays in a similar band.
How are disputes between Jio-bp and its dealers resolved?
By arbitration seated in Mumbai. A 2022 Jio-bp operatorship agreement quoted by the Bombay High Court let the company nominate the sole arbitrator; in 2024 the court appointed one on Jio-bp's application. Court records from 2025–26 also show several disputes with former dealer-landowners over renewing 20-year land leases on older pumps.
How do I avoid fake Jio-bp dealership offers?
Jio-bp says it hasn't authorised any agents or brokers and that its Field Managers carry a company ID card and visit only after a complete application. In Jul 2026 police in Maharashtra registered a case after a businessman paid about ₹84.5 L to people selling a fake 'Jio petrol pump' dealership.

Similar Automobile & EV Franchises

View All

Interested in

Jio-bp