F
FranchiseChuno
Sign InCreate AccountList Your Franchise
Genericart Medicine

Genericart Medicine Franchise

Healthcare & PharmacyEst. 2015Miraj, Maharashtra

Royalty-free generic-medicine pharmacy franchise: ₹8–10 L retail shop (150 sq ft) or ₹25–40 L Medicine Mall (1,500 sq ft), plus working capital.

Genericart Medicine franchise at a glance (terms checked Sept 2026)

Taking franchiseesModels: UnitTerms checked Sept 2026

Investment

₹8 L - ₹40 L

excl. working capital · In line with the category (typical ₹14.5 L–₹33.44 L, median ₹21.43 L, 8 verified brands)

Ongoing take

No royalty

Franchise fee

Not published

Payback

24–60 months*

* Not verified — the brand doesn't publish this; the figure comes from other published sources or FranchiseChuno's estimate (see "Reported elsewhere" and "Our estimates" below). Real numbers can differ.

81Excellent · provisionalFranchiseChuno Score · 64% of data verified
  • Claims 2,000 outlets; its own locator lists 379
  • Disputes with franchisees: None found (records checked Sep 2026)
  • Profit or loss: Profit of ₹4.1 Cr in FY25
  • Revenue trend: +21% revenue FY24→FY25

Franchisor strength isn't franchisee profit — check real outlet numbers.

Outlets

379 verified

Brand claims 2,000

What we couldn't verify

  • • Outlet closures
  • • Franchisee satisfaction
  • • Network growth
  • • Fee refund

Ask before you sign

  1. Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. Ask for the one-time franchise fee in writing, and whether any part is refundable.
  3. Ask whether you get an exclusive territory, and how large it is.

Franchise terms checked against Genericart Medicine's official franchise page on 27 Sept 2026. Figures marked * aren't published by the brand — they come from other published sources or our own estimate, and aren't verified.

Investment Breakdown

Per franchisor
Store investment
₹8 L – ₹10 L
Working capitalWorking capital
₹3 L – ₹4 L
Store investment
₹25 L – ₹40 L
Working capitalWorking capital
₹5 L – ₹8 L
Retail drug licence fee (Maharashtra, Forms 20 & 21)
₹3K

State fee per the Maharashtra FDA applicant guide (2017); other states differ.

Total Investment₹41.03 L – ₹62.03 L

Ongoing charges

Royalty · "Lifetime no royalty"₹0
Ongoing Royalty / Revenue ShareNil — Genericart states "lifetime no royalty"

Model your own numbers in our calculator

Open the ROI calculator

* Breakdown as published by Genericart Medicine.

Ways to Partner with Genericart Medicine

2 partner models published by the brand. Figures it doesn't publish are left blank.

Unit franchise

Medicine Retail Shop

Investment
₹8 L – ₹10 L
Space
From 150 sq ft
Who it suits
Main road, market place or high-footfall commercial area; no basement or semi-basement

Plus ₹3–4 L working capital. FOFO: the franchisee owns and runs the store.

Unit franchise

Medicine Mall

Investment
₹25 L – ₹40 L
Space
From 1,500 sq ft
Who it suits
Shopping mall, prime commercial zone or high-footfall urban area; no basement or semi-basement

Plus ₹5–8 L working capital. Large-format pharmacy ("Genericart and Generals Medicine Mall").

Our Estimates

FranchiseChuno estimate

Genericart Medicine doesn't publish these, so here is our best read of the market and how we got there. They are our estimates, not the brand's figures — use them to plan, then confirm the real numbers in writing.

  • Monthly profit of a Medicine Retail Shop

    ₹20,000–60,000*

    Assumes a 150–300 sq ft shop selling ₹2–3 L of medicines a month once established, and a realised margin of 35–45% (below Genericart's "average 50%" because generic stores discount off MRP). Monthly costs of about ₹50,000–80,000 cover rent (₹15,000–40,000 in a small town), a registered pharmacist (₹15,000–25,000), a helper, power and software. A shop stuck near ₹1.5 L of sales barely breaks even.

    Unit-economics model · Sep 2026

  • Payback for a Medicine Retail Shop

    24–60 months*

    Treats the ₹8–10 L store outlay as the amount to recover; the ₹3–4 L working capital sits in stock and is largely recoverable. At the top of our ₹20,000–60,000 monthly profit estimate, ₹8 L is recovered in about 13–14 months, plus a 6–12 month ramp-up while the customer base builds: about 2 years. At ₹20,000 a month, ₹10 L takes about 50 months plus the ramp-up: about 5 years. A shop stuck near ₹1.5 L of monthly sales may never pay back.

    Unit-economics model · Sep 2026

Unit Economics

Brand's own figures

How Genericart Medicine says an outlet's numbers work. These are illustrations, not guarantees — check them against existing franchisees before you sign.

Average shop marginBrochure: "average 50% margin for shop or more than that". Not defined; reads as the margin on medicine sales before rent and salaries, not net profit.
50 %

Reputation & News

What the press, courts and real franchisees or customers have said about Genericart Medicine — summarised by us, with every source linked.

  • Customer view· Sep 2026★ 3.9/5 · 2,100 ratings

    Customer app rated 3.9 on Google Play, with delivery and expiry complaints

    Genericart's medicine-ordering app has a 3.9-star rating from about 2,100 reviews and over 1 lakh downloads on Google Play. Recent reviews praise the app's ease of use and savings, while others complain of late delivery, hard-to-reach support, a pill-reminder feature that does not work and medicines delivered close to expiry. The company replies to complaints on the page.

    Source: Google Play — Genericart Medicines app
  • In the news· Aug 2020

    2020 profile: founders on starting in Miraj and national expansion

    In an August 2020 profile, directors Salim Sayyed and Shripad Kolhatkar said they opened their first shop in Miraj in July 2015 and had surveyed 25,000 people about generic medicines. They said the company then had more than 1,100 registered shops, branded Swast Aushadhi Seva or Genericart Medicine, in Maharashtra, Karnataka and Kerala. The piece is based on the founders' own statements.

    Source: iU eMagazine

Store support tools ('Generic Mitra')

  • Medicine ordering through a franchise mobile app
  • Customer support for online sales
  • In-house online/offline POS software (POS V2.0)
  • Zero-expiry management system
  • Quality-control certificate for every product and batch
  • Google map listing and online-service add-ons
  • Additional earning platform for high-performing shops
  • Registered customers stay tagged to their store

Source: Genericart comparison brochure

Training programme

  • Dedicated training for shop owners: one-time classroom training, repeated every 6 months
  • Quarterly business-development sessions
  • Monthly virtual and teleconference support
  • New-pharmacist training programme
  • Quarterly pharmacist development programme (PDP)
  • Joint sessions with FDA authorities and pharmacists

Source: Genericart — franchise page

Products and in-store services

  • Generic medicines, surgical equipment, injectables, medical consumables, cosmetics and personal care
  • Free blood-pressure monitoring
  • Low-cost blood-sugar testing (FBS/RBS)
  • Patient counselling
  • Home delivery
  • Free medical consultation camps
  • Can source special medicines for cancer and other disorders

Source: Genericart — About (Products and Services)

Stated expansion plans

  • 25,000+ Genericart stores across India
  • Dark-store models in Tier 1 and Tier 2 cities
  • Stronger presence in Tier 3 and Tier 4 cities
  • More online delivery channels (target: 110)
  • Better mobile app and loyalty programme

Source: Genericart — About (Vision, Future Expansion)

Offices and warehouses

TypeLocation
Head officeMiraj, Maharashtra
OfficePatna, Bihar
Office and warehouseBelagavi, Karnataka
Office and warehouseAgartala, Tripura
WarehouseMiraj, Maharashtra
WarehouseChhatrapati Sambhajinagar, Maharashtra

Source: Genericart — Contact

Key Terms at Genericart Medicine

The clauses that shape day-to-day running and your exit — read these before the fee.

Supply & stock
Genericart supplies stock from its own warehouses with free delivery to the store and 30-day bill-to-bill credit; whether stores must buy only from Genericart is not stated.
Renewal
The franchise contract runs 5 years and can be renewed; the brand says it does not take back good sites at the end of the term (Genericart's franchisee FAQ, archived Oct 2018).
Selling the franchise
A franchisee may sell the franchise after informing Genericart, which vets the buyer and sets the procedure both sides must follow (franchisee FAQ, archived Oct 2018).
Other terms
The franchisee is responsible for choosing the location and negotiating the rent; Genericart's site study is advisory (franchisee FAQ, archived Oct 2018).
Customers registered with a store stay tagged to that store and cannot be switched to another (brochure).

Funding options

Supplier credit

Genericart Medicine

30-day bill-to-bill credit on supplies, plus a cash-discount facility and free delivery from the warehouse

Legal & Contract Summary

Key contract terms at a glance — read before you sign.

Agreement Type

FOFO

Franchisee-Owned, Franchisee-Operated

Contract Duration

5 years

Renewal Available

Yes

Territory Exclusivity

—

Non-Compete Clause

—

Exit Clause

—

Who Can Apply for Genericart Medicine

Conditions the brand sets for partners, and the licences the business needs.

  • Space: Retail shop at least 150 sq ft; Medicine Mall at least 1,500 sq ft; no basement or semi-basementRequired
  • Registered pharmacist: A retail medical store must have the services of a registered pharmacist to get a drug licenceRequired
  • Refrigerator: Mandatory for a retail drug licenceRequired

Licences & registrations

LicenceIssued byWho gets it
Retail drug licence (Forms 20 & 21)Maharashtra requires at least 10 sq m carpet area with a separate entrance, a registered pharmacist and a refrigerator.State drug controller / FDAYou

About the Brand

Brand USP

Genericart says it runs a royalty-free generic pharmacy franchise with 550+ own-brand products, in-house POS and inventory software, and 30-day bill-to-bill credit.

HeadquartersMiraj, Maharashtra
Genericart Medicine Pvt. Ltd. is a chain of generic-medicine pharmacies headquartered in Miraj, Maharashtra, founded by Shripad Kolhatkar and DRx Salim Sayyad. Its founders say they opened the first shop in Miraj in July 2015 (a company brochure gives 2013 as the establishment year), and the company was incorporated in February 2016. Genericart says it has 2,000+ franchise stores, 16,000+ online partner stores and 550+ own-brand products, and aims for 25,000 stores. Its official store locator lists 379 stores (Sep 2026), 288 of them in Maharashtra, then Karnataka and Tripura. All stores run on a franchise-owned, franchise-operated (FOFO) model with no royalty. There are two formats. A Medicine Retail Shop needs ₹8–10 L plus ₹3–4 L of working capital and at least 150 sq ft on a main road, in a market or in a busy commercial area. A Medicine Mall needs ₹25–40 L plus ₹5–8 L of working capital and at least 1,500 sq ft in a mall or prime commercial zone. Basements and semi-basements are not allowed for either format. Genericart provides two-day classroom training, opening stock with POS training, pharmacist induction and a six-month review. It also gives free delivery from its warehouse, 30-day bill-to-bill credit and in-house POS and inventory software. Genericart says shops average a margin of about 50%, but it doesn't say how that is calculated; it reads as a margin on medicine sales, not profit. It doesn't publish a franchise fee, store-level sales, payback period or ROI (its 2018 franchisee FAQ gave a 5-year, renewable contract that can be sold with its approval), and each store needs its own retail drug licence and a registered pharmacist. The 2,000+ store count is the company's own figure — more than five times what its locator shows. Filings show the franchisor made revenue of ₹56.8 Cr and a profit of ₹4.1 Cr in FY25; that says nothing about what a store earns, so check real store numbers with existing franchisees. An arbitration petition an individual filed against the company in the Bombay High Court in 2020 was withdrawn in Jan 2024 without a ruling.

Why invest in Genericart Medicine?

- No royalty: Genericart states 'lifetime no royalty' on its FOFO franchise stores - Two published formats: ₹8–10 L retail shop (min 150 sq ft) or ₹25–40 L Medicine Mall (min 1,500 sq ft), plus stated working capital - Supply terms in its brochure: free delivery from its warehouse to the store and 30-day bill-to-bill credit

Genericart Medicine by the Numbers

Source marked on each figure

2,000+

Franchise stores · Sep 2026

Brand claim

379

Stores on official locator · Sep 2026

Store locator

16,000+

Online partner stores · Sep 2026

Brand claim

550+

Own-brand products · Sep 2026

Brand claim

27,000+

Full product range · Sep 2026

Brand claim

12

Business models

Brand claim

About 80% (rest from GMP-certified units)

Products from WHO-GMP units

Brand claim

ISO 9001:2015

Certification

Brand claim

Genericart Medicine Outlet Network

By state · Sep 2026

  • Maharashtra288
  • Karnataka33
  • Tripura13

Outlet count over time

Aug 2020 — registered shops (founders to iU eMagazine): 1,100 outlets · Aug 2020 · iuemag.com

Cities with Outlets

Show all 24 cities
Agartala, TripuraAhmedabad, GujaratBangalore, KarnatakaBhubaneswar, OdishaChhatrapati Sambhajinagar, MaharashtraCuttack, OdishaFaridabad, HaryanaGuntur, Andhra PradeshHubballi, KarnatakaHyderabad, TelanganaImphal, ManipurJaipur, RajasthanKolkata, West BengalMargao, GoaMumbai, MaharashtraNagpur, MaharashtraNashik, MaharashtraNavi Mumbai, MaharashtraPatna, BiharPune, MaharashtraRaipur, ChhattisgarhRanchi, JharkhandThane, MaharashtraVisakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

Cities with Outlets

24 cities
Has an outlet
Major city, no outlet listed
Click a city to explore

Company Financials

Brand-level, publicly reported

The franchisor's own company health — separate from what a single franchise outlet earns.

Revenue (FY25)

₹56.81 Cr

Net profit (FY25)

₹4.14 Cr

Employees (May 2025)

82

Source: Tracxn — Genericart Medicine Private Limited, FY25 financials (from company filings)

Source: Tracxn — Genericart Medicines, funding and headcount (Sep 2026)

A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.

Company Health Check

What Genericart Medicine's franchisor company has filed with the registrar and the courts — the checks a lawyer would run before you sign.

Status with the registrar
Active
Annual filings
Up to date
Last AGM
30 Sep 2024
Paid-up capital
₹1.98 Cr
Auditor
Vedvati Lele (individual auditor, since FY23)

Source: Tracxn — Genericart Medicine Pvt Ltd legal-entity record (MCA filings), read Sep 2026 (checked Dec 2025)

Full company recordsFinancials year by year, registered details, leadership and timelineShow

Genericart Medicine Financials Over Time

Figures for the brand, from filed or reported accounts.

FY19
₹3.59 L
Profit ₹33K
FY20
₹28.4 L▲ 691%
Profit ₹56K
FY21
₹16.32 Cr▲ 5648%
Profit ₹2.18 Cr
FY22
₹43.65 Cr▲ 167%
Profit ₹95.6 L
FY23
₹44.65 Cr▲ 2%
Profit ₹24.4 L
FY24
₹46.9 Cr▲ 5%
Profit ₹1.42 Cr
FY25
₹56.81 Cr▲ 21%
Profit ₹4.14 Cr

Source: Tracxn — Genericart Medicine Pvt Ltd (company filings)

A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.

Company Profile

The legal entity behind the brand, its leadership, and its official channels.

Registered name
Genericart Medicine Private Limited
Company type
Private Limited
CIN
U24290PN2016PTC158184
Incorporated
2 Feb 2016
Headquarters
Miraj, Maharashtra

Leadership

  • SShripad M. KolhatkarCo-founder (HR, operations, marketing, finance, sales and software)
  • DDRx Salim SayyadCo-founder (procurement, warehousing, logistics, quality)

Social presence

InstagramFacebookLinkedInYouTube

Company details source: Tracxn — company filings

Genericart Medicine Timeline

  1. Jul 2015

    First shop opens

    Founders Salim Sayyad and Shripad Kolhatkar say they opened the first Genericart shop in Miraj, Sangli district, on 6 July 2015. A company brochure gives 2013 as the establishment year.

    Source
  2. Feb 2016

    Company incorporated

    Genericart Medicine Private Limited incorporated (Pune ROC).

    Source
  3. FY25

    ₹56.8 Cr revenue

    Revenue of ₹56.8 Cr and net profit of ₹4.1 Cr per company filings.

    Source
  4. Sep 2026Announced plan

    Target of 25,000 stores

    Genericart's About page states a goal of 25,000+ stores across India, dark stores in Tier 1–2 cities and 80 regional warehouses.

FranchiseChuno Analysis

Our analysis of verified data

How Genericart Medicine looks once the numbers are checked side by side.

  • •Investment in line with the Healthcare & Pharmacy medianMidpoint ₹24 L vs a category median of ₹21.4 L across brands on FranchiseChuno.
  • ✓The franchisor company is profitableIts latest filed accounts show a net profit. That's the franchisor's money, not yours: a profitable franchisor doesn't mean its franchisees make money. Check real outlet numbers before you invest.
  • ✓Brand operating for 11 yearsFounded in 2015. The brand doesn't state when franchising began.
  • !Outlet claim is well above its store locatorGenericart Medicine claims 2,000 outlets, but its own store locator lists 379 (Sep 2026). Ask for a current list of operating outlets.

Data completeness

82%

  • ✓ Terms checked against the brand's own page
  • ✓ Published investment (not an estimate)
  • ○ Franchise fee
  • ✓ Royalty
  • ○ ROI or payback claim
  • ✓ Agreement term
  • ✓ Training details
  • ✓ Outlet cities verified
  • ✓ Company financials
  • ✓ Legal entity
  • ✓ News & public opinion checked

Ask Before You Sign

Questions tailored to what Genericart Medicine does and doesn't publish.

  1. 1Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. 2Ask for the one-time franchise fee in writing, and whether any part is refundable.
  3. 3Ask whether you get an exclusive territory, and how large it is.
  4. 4Have a lawyer review the franchise agreement before paying anything.
  5. 5Visit 2–3 existing outlets and speak to their owners without the brand present.
Running the outletSpace, staff, launch steps, training, support and who does whatShow

Operations Required

What you'll need on the ground to run this franchise day-to-day.

Area Required

150 sq ft

Staff Needed

—

Setup Time

—

Owner Involvement

—

Best Locations

Not published

Business Type

Not published

From First Call to Launch

Genericart Medicine's onboarding process, step by step.

  1. 1

    Welcome visit and business orientation

  2. 2

    Two-day classroom training

  3. 3

    Welcome stock and POS training

  4. 4

    Shop opening readiness

  5. 5

    Pharmacist induction

  6. 6

    Post-opening customer connect

  7. 7

    Six-month review and training

  8. 8

    Handover from franchise development to franchise relationship manager

    Shown on the brochure as 'FDM to FRM handover'.

Training & Support

What the brand provides to help you launch and run your franchise.

Operations Manual

Step-by-step playbook for running the outlet

Not published

Supply Chain Support

Vendor sourcing, inventory & logistics

Included

Technology / POS

Billing, inventory, and management software

Not published

Marketing Support

National & local marketing campaigns

Not included

Launch Support

Pre-opening setup and grand-opening assistance

Not published

Ongoing Field Support

Regular visits and operational coaching

Not published

Who Does What

Per franchisor

How Genericart Medicine splits the work between the brand and you, as the brand describes it.

Genericart Medicine

Handled centrally by the brand

  1. 1

    Training and systems

    Classroom and pharmacist training, POS software, inventory and warehouse systems, and operating SOPs.

  2. 2

    Supply

    Free medicine delivery from warehouse to store, 30-day bill-to-bill credit and a cash-discount facility.

  3. 3

    Field and marketing support

    On-field support, marketing and promotional support, and Google map listing and online-order add-ons for stores.

You (franchisee)

Your local responsibilities

  1. 1

    Own and run the store

    The franchisee invests in and manages the store day to day under the FOFO model.

  2. 2

    Location

    Retail shop on a main road, in a market or a busy commercial area; Medicine Mall in a shopping mall, prime commercial zone or busy urban area. No basement or semi-basement.

Training Programme

Two-day classroom training, welcome stock and POS training, pharmacist induction, and a six-month review with training; repeat owner sessions every 6 months, quarterly business-development sessions, monthly virtual support, and a pharmacist development programme.

Ongoing Support

Store setup guidance, staff training, product-knowledge support, marketing and promotional support, field assistance, in-house POS, inventory (IMS) and warehouse (WMS) software, and mobile apps for customers and store owners.

What Genericart Medicine franchisees say

We haven't yet heard from enough Genericart Medicine franchisees to show anything. We publish totals once 3 or more people who run an outlet have answered and we've called each one to check.

I run a Genericart Medicine outlet — share how it went

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the total investment for a Genericart Medicine franchise?
Genericart Medicine states an investment of ₹8 lakh–₹40 lakh. Genericart publishes ₹8–10 L for a Medicine Retail Shop and ₹25–40 L for a Medicine Mall, plus working capital of ₹3–4 L and ₹5–8 L respectively. It does not say whether a franchise fee is included.
What training does Genericart Medicine provide?
Two-day classroom training, welcome stock and POS training, pharmacist induction, and a six-month review with training; repeat owner sessions every 6 months, quarterly business-development sessions, monthly virtual support, and a pharmacist development programme.
Does Genericart charge a royalty?
No. Genericart's franchise page lists "no royalty fees" and its brochure says "lifetime no royalty" for its franchise-owned, franchise-operated stores. It does not say whether a one-time franchise fee is part of the ₹8–10 lakh or ₹25–40 lakh investment.
Who supplies the medicines to a Genericart store, and on what terms?
Genericart supplies stock from its own warehouses. Its brochure lists free delivery from warehouse to store, 30-day bill-to-bill credit and a cash-discount facility. It does not state whether stores may also buy from other suppliers.
What licence does a Genericart pharmacy need?
Each store needs its own retail drug licence (Forms 20 and 21) from the state drug controller. In Maharashtra that requires at least 10 sq m of carpet area with a separate entrance, a registered pharmacist and a refrigerator, and a ₹3,250 licence fee (Maharashtra FDA guide).
Is Genericart's "50% margin" the profit a store makes?
Not necessarily. The brochure says shops earn an "average 50% margin … or more" without saying how it is measured. It reads as the margin on medicine sales before rent, the pharmacist's salary and other costs, so a store's actual profit will be well below 50% of sales.
Can I sell my Genericart franchise later, and how long is the contract?
Genericart's franchisee FAQ (archived in Oct 2018; not restated on the current site) says the contract runs 5 years and can be renewed, and that a franchisee may sell after informing Genericart, which vets the buyer and sets the transfer procedure. Confirm these terms in the current agreement.

Similar Healthcare & Pharmacy Franchises

View All

Interested in

Genericart Medicine