F
FranchiseChuno
Sign InCreate AccountList Your Franchise
Chuck E. Cheese

Chuck E. Cheese Franchise

US family entertainment restaurant brand offering India as a master/multi-unit territory. Needs US$1.5M+ liquidity and US$2.5M+ net worth.

About This Listing

Chuck E. Cheese franchises in India only as a master or multi-unit territory for well-capitalised groups: at least US$1.5M liquid assets and US$2.5M net worth for 1–5 stores. We found no operating venue in India.

Source: Chuck E. Cheese — international franchising FAQ

Chuck E. Cheese franchise at a glance (terms checked Sept 2026)

Master franchise onlyModels: MasterTerms checked Sept 2026

Investment

₹8 Cr - ₹15 Cr*

Estimate — not published by the brand

Ongoing take

5% + 0.75% marketing

of gross sales

Franchise fee

₹1–4 Cr*

Payback

Not published

* Not verified — the brand doesn't publish this; the figure comes from other published sources or FranchiseChuno's estimate (see "Reported elsewhere" and "Our estimates" below). Real numbers can differ.

FranchiseChuno ScoreNot scored yet — 28% of data verified
  • Legal or regulatory action on record — see Reputation & News
  • Disputes with franchisees: None found (records checked Sep 2026)
  • Ongoing take: 5.75% of sales in royalty and marketing fees

Outlets

Not published

What we couldn't verify

  • • Outlet closures
  • • Franchisee satisfaction
  • • Profit or loss
  • • Revenue trend

Ask before you sign

  1. Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. Get a written, itemised cost breakdown — the brand hasn't published one.
  3. Ask for the one-time franchise fee in writing, and whether any part is refundable.

Franchise terms checked against Chuck E. Cheese's official franchise page on 27 Sept 2026. Figures marked * aren't published by the brand — they come from other published sources or our own estimate, and aren't verified.

Investment Breakdown

Per franchisor
Initial franchise fee
Amount not disclosed

Not published; the brand says fees are in its information pack after application review.

Build-out and equipment
Amount not disclosed

Not published.

Total Investment—

Chuck E. Cheese doesn't disclose the amount of any of these charges.

Ongoing Royalty / Revenue Share5% of monthly sales (gross or net not stated), plus a 0.75% of sales marketing and entertainment contribution

Model your own numbers in our calculator

Open the ROI calculator

* Breakdown as published by Chuck E. Cheese. Chuck E. Cheese confirms 2 charges without disclosing the amount — get it in writing before you pay.

Ways to Partner with Chuck E. Cheese

3 partner models published by the brand. Figures it doesn't publish are left blank.

Master franchise

Multi-unit development: 1–5 stores

Space
8,073 sq ft – 16,146 sq ft
Territory
Country or regional development rights; India listed as available
Who it suits
Minimum net worth US$2.5–3.5M and liquidity US$1.5–2.5M dedicated to the Chuck E. Cheese investment
Master franchise

Multi-unit development: 5–15 stores

Space
8,073 sq ft – 16,146 sq ft
Territory
Country or regional development rights; India listed as available
Who it suits
Minimum net worth US$4.5–7M and liquidity US$3.5–5.5M dedicated to the Chuck E. Cheese investment
Master franchise

Master / multi-unit development: 15–25 stores

Space
8,073 sq ft – 16,146 sq ft
Territory
Country or regional development rights; India listed as available
Who it suits
Minimum net worth US$7–12M and liquidity US$5.5–9M dedicated to the Chuck E. Cheese investment

Our Estimates

FranchiseChuno estimate

Chuck E. Cheese doesn't publish these, so here is our best read of the market and how we got there. They are our estimates, not the brand's figures — use them to plan, then confirm the real numbers in writing.

  • All-in cost to build one Chuck E. Cheese venue in India

    ₹8–15 Cr per venue*

    A 1,000–1,400 m² (about 11,000–15,000 sq ft) mall venue with 55–85 arcade games: games and play equipment ₹2–4 Cr, fit-out at roughly ₹3,000–5,000 per sq ft (₹3.5–7 Cr), kitchen and party rooms ₹0.5–1 Cr, mall deposits and pre-opening costs ₹1–2 Cr, plus the unpublished development fee. It is consistent with the brand asking for at least US$1.5M (about ₹12.5 Cr) of liquid funds for a 1–5 store deal.

    Unit-economics model · Sep 2026

  • Development and initial fees for a 1–5 store India deal

    ₹1–4 Cr*

    International master and multi-unit deals for US restaurant-entertainment brands usually charge a development fee per committed store plus a per-store opening fee, commonly tens of thousands of US dollars each. For 1–5 stores that is roughly US$0.15–0.5M. Chuck E. Cheese shares its fees only after application review.

    Analyst judgement · Sep 2026

Unit Economics

Brand's own figures

How Chuck E. Cheese says an outlet's numbers work. These are illustrations, not guarantees — check them against existing franchisees before you sign.

Average unit sales (historical)Brand's historical average across its system; no India figure.
10,00,000 – 40,00,000 USD

Reputation & News

5 red flags to check

What the press, courts and real franchisees or customers have said about Chuck E. Cheese — summarised by us, with every source linked.

  • In the news· Sep 2026

    Mumbai venue no longer operating

    Restaurant Guru lists the Chuck E. Cheese at R City Mall, Ghatkopar, as temporarily closed. The brand's own territory page lists India as available for master and multi-unit franchising rather than occupied.

    Source: Restaurant Guru
  • In the news· Sep 2026

    US parent went through Chapter 11 in 2020

    CEC Entertainment filed for Chapter 11 in June 2020 during the pandemic and emerged in December 2020 under new ownership led by Monarch Alternative Capital. Its predecessor, Pizza Time Theatre, had also filed for chapter 11 in March 1984.

    Source: Wikipedia
  • Legal / regulatory· Dec 2020

    Franchisor filed for chapter 11 in June 2020

    A US bankruptcy court opinion records that CEC Entertainment and its affiliates filed chapter 11 petitions on 24 June 2020 in Houston (case 20-33163); the company emerged in December 2020 under new owners.

    Source: US Bankruptcy Court, S.D. Texas opinion (FindLaw)
  • In the news· Feb 2026

    CEO steps down; CFO promoted

    CEC said David McKillips stepped down after six years as President and CEO and that CFO Scott Drake, who joined in 2024, succeeded him from 13 Feb 2026.

    Source: CEC Entertainment press release (PR Newswire)
  • In the news· Mar 2026

    Several US venues closed in 2026

    USA Today reported US closures such as Salisbury, Maryland. CEC called it a routine lease expiry, said it should not be read as financial or operational distress, and said it plans 8–10 openings in 2026.

    Source: USA Today (via AOL)
Show 2 more
  • In the news· Apr 2021

    International expansion; India among markets

    Global Franchise reported the first El Salvador opening and listed India among the brand's 15+ international markets at the time, with about 570 locations and a target of 100+ new openings.

    Source: Global Franchise
  • In the news· Sep 2025

    US$650M notes refinanced with a private loan

    CEC closed a US$625 million private credit term loan in Sep 2025 and, with cash on hand, redeemed its US$650 million senior secured notes due May 2026.

    Source: CEC Entertainment press release (Yahoo Finance)

Standard venue format

Unit size
750–1,500 sq m
FAQ: typically 1,000–1,400 sq m
Arcade games
55–85 (FAQ); 60+ (concept page)
Concept
Games and activities, food, birthday party space and entertainment
Formats
Standalone, strip/in-line, mall

Source: Chuck E. Cheese Franchising — Flexible Concepts

Key Terms at Chuck E. Cheese

The clauses that shape day-to-day running and your exit — read these before the fee.

Territory
Franchises are offered only outside the US and Canada; India is listed among markets available for master and multi-unit development.
Other terms
Royalty of 5% of sales monthly (gross or net not stated) plus a 0.75% of sales marketing and entertainment contribution.

Funding options

Financing

Franchisee's own bank or equity partners

Chuck E. Cheese does not offer financing; it suggests bank loans or additional equity partners.

Legal & Contract Summary

Key contract terms at a glance — read before you sign.

Agreement Type

Not specified

Contract Duration

—

Renewal Available

—

Territory Exclusivity

—

Non-Compete Clause

—

Exit Clause

—

Who Can Apply for Chuck E. Cheese

Conditions the brand sets for partners, and the licences the business needs.

  • Minimum net worth: US$2.5–3.5MRequired
  • Minimum liquidity: US$1.5–2.5MRequired
  • Minimum net worth: US$4.5–7MRequired
  • Minimum liquidity: US$3.5–5.5MRequired
  • Minimum net worth: US$7–12MRequired
  • Minimum liquidity: US$5.5–9MRequired
  • Liquid assets asked on the enquiry form: US$800,000 (the FAQ's minimum is US$1.5M)Required
  • Business track record: Proven success running businesses in the target market; restaurant or entertainment background not requiredRequired
  • Ownership structure: Any number of partners, but one must hold a voting majority and all must clear US Patriot Act background checksRequired
  • Other businesses: AllowedPreferred

About the Brand

Brand USP

Pizza, arcade games, play attractions and birthday parties under one roof, from a brand operating since 1977.

Parent CompanyCEC Entertainment
Global Outlets570
Chuck E. Cheese is a US family entertainment restaurant brand that combines pizza, arcade games, play attractions and children's birthday parties. It was founded in 1977 and is owned by CEC Entertainment. The brand says it has more than 570 locations in 16 countries. It franchises only outside the US and Canada, and India is on its list of territories open for master and multi-unit franchising. This is a large, multi-unit deal rather than a single-outlet franchise. The standard venue is 750–1,500 sq m (about 8,000–16,000 sq ft) with 55–85 arcade games, and the brand reports historical average unit sales of US$1–4 million a year. To develop 1–5 stores it asks for at least US$1.5–2.5 million in liquid assets and US$2.5–3.5 million in net worth, rising to US$5.5–9 million liquidity and US$7–12 million net worth for 15–25 stores. Its international FAQ states a royalty of 5% of monthly sales (gross or net not stated) plus a 0.75% marketing and entertainment contribution. The franchise fee and build cost are not published, and the brand does not offer financing. We found no Chuck E. Cheese operating in India now. CEC's own Feb 2026 release names the 16 foreign countries and territories where its franchisees operate, and India is not one of them; the one Indian venue, at R City Mall in Ghatkopar, Mumbai, is shown as temporarily closed on restaurant listings. The franchisor went through US chapter 11 bankruptcy from June to December 2020 and emerged under new, lender-led owners; its predecessor, Pizza Time Theatre, had also filed for chapter 11 in 1984. In Sep 2025 it replaced US$650 million of notes due in 2026 with a US$625 million private loan, in Feb 2026 its CEO stepped down after six years, and in 2026 it closed several US venues as leases ended, while saying it plans 8–10 openings. Most of the system is company-run: as of Sep 2025 franchisees ran 156 of the 657 CEC venues, a count that includes its Peter Piper Pizza chain.

Why invest in Chuck E. Cheese?

- The brand says it has 570+ locations in 16 countries; India is listed as an open territory for master and multi-unit franchising - Standard venue of 750–1,500 sq m with 55–85 arcade games; brand reports average unit sales of US$1–4M a year - Support on site selection, design, supply chain, menu, games, training, marketing and grand opening

Chuck E. Cheese by the Numbers

As stated by the brand

570+ in 16 countries and territories

Locations worldwide · Sep 2026

Brand claim

1977

Founded

Brand claim

US$1–4M a year

Average unit sales (historical)

Brand claim

1.5 billion+

Gameplays a year

Brand claim

Available territory; no operating venue

India status · Sep 2026

Brand claim

156 of 657; 501 company-operated

Franchised venues (CEC group, incl. Peter Piper Pizza) · Sep 2025

Brand claim

Company Health Check

What Chuck E. Cheese's franchisor company has filed with the registrar and the courts — the checks a lawyer would run before you sign.

Group companies

  • CEC Entertainment, LLC (franchisor)Holding company
  • Monarch Alternative Capital-led lender groupshareholder
Full company recordsFinancials year by year, registered details, leadership and timelineShow

Company Profile

The legal entity behind the brand, its leadership, and its official channels.

Leadership

  • SScott DrakePresident and CEO, CEC Entertainment

Social presence

FacebookInstagramXYouTubeLinkedIn

Chuck E. Cheese Timeline

  1. 1977

    Brand founded

    Founded by Atari co-founder Nolan Bushnell as Chuck E. Cheese Pizza Time Theatre.

  2. Mar 1984

    Predecessor files chapter 11

    Pizza Time Theatre Inc., the original Chuck E. Cheese company, filed for chapter 11; it was bought in 1985 and merged into ShowBiz Pizza Time.

    Source
  3. Jun 2020

    Chapter 11 filing

    CEC Entertainment filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection in the US.

    Source
  4. Dec 2020

    Emerges from bankruptcy

    Emerged under new ownership led by Monarch Alternative Capital.

    Source
  5. Apr 2021

    International push

    First El Salvador venue opens; India listed among the brand's 15+ international markets.

    Source
  6. Sep 2025

    Debt refinanced

    CEC closed a US$625 million private credit term loan and used it with cash to redeem US$650 million of senior secured notes due May 2026.

    Source
  7. Feb 2026

    CEO change

    David McKillips stepped down after six years; CFO Scott Drake became President and CEO from 13 Feb 2026.

    Source
  8. Mar 2026

    Turkey launch announced

    Listed in the brand's franchise news.

FranchiseChuno Analysis

Our analysis of verified data

How Chuck E. Cheese looks once the numbers are checked side by side.

  • ✓Brand operating for 49 yearsFounded in 1977. The brand doesn't state when franchising began.
  • !5 red flags in the news or public discussionSee Reputation & News below, and ask the brand to address each one.

Data completeness

36%

  • ✓ Terms checked against the brand's own page
  • ○ Published investment (not an estimate)
  • ○ Franchise fee
  • ✓ Royalty
  • ○ ROI or payback claim
  • ○ Agreement term
  • ✓ Training details
  • ○ Outlet cities verified
  • ○ Company financials
  • ○ Legal entity
  • ✓ News & public opinion checked

Ask Before You Sign

Questions tailored to what Chuck E. Cheese does and doesn't publish.

  1. 1Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. 2Get a written, itemised cost breakdown — the brand hasn't published one.
  3. 3Ask for the one-time franchise fee in writing, and whether any part is refundable.
  4. 4Ask for the agreement term, renewal fee and exit or transfer terms.
  5. 5Ask whether you get an exclusive territory, and how large it is.
  6. 6Ask the brand to respond to each red flag listed under Reputation & News.
  7. 7Have a lawyer review the franchise agreement before paying anything.
  8. 8Visit 2–3 existing outlets and speak to their owners without the brand present.
Running the outletSpace, staff, launch steps, training, support and who does whatShow

Operations Required

What you'll need on the ground to run this franchise day-to-day.

Area Required

8,073 - 16,146 sq ft

Staff Needed

—

Setup Time

—

Owner Involvement

—

Best Locations

Not published

Business Type

Not published

Training & Support

What the brand provides to help you launch and run your franchise.

Operations Manual

Step-by-step playbook for running the outlet

Not published

Supply Chain Support

Vendor sourcing, inventory & logistics

Included

Technology / POS

Billing, inventory, and management software

Not published

Marketing Support

Menu and pricing guidance, a turnkey new-market opening guide, a creative asset library, four seasonal global campaigns, campaign guidance and evaluation, marketing team hiring support and advertising outlet support.

Included

Launch Support

Pre-opening setup and grand-opening assistance

Not published

Ongoing Field Support

Regular visits and operational coaching

Not published

Who Does What

Per franchisor

How Chuck E. Cheese splits the work between the brand and you, as the brand describes it.

Chuck E. Cheese

Handled centrally by the brand

  1. 1

    Development support

    Market mapping, real estate and site selection, lease negotiation and project management for new stores.

  2. 2

    Local adaptation

    Brand specifications and taste profiles for local sourcing of build-out materials and food; localised menus, games and design.

  3. 3

    Operations and marketing

    Operations consultation, training, grand-opening support, seasonal global campaigns and a creative asset library.

You (franchisee)

Your local responsibilities

  1. 1

    Capital

    Meet the liquidity and net-worth thresholds for the number of stores to be developed; arrange financing through banks or equity partners.

  2. 2

    Ownership structure

    Any number of partners, provided one holds a voting majority and all clear US Patriot Act background checks.

  3. 3

    Local teams

    Run the stores and hire local operations and marketing teams.

Training Programme

Team training and grand-opening support; ongoing training, store operations consultation and help with P&L management, budgets and procedures.

Ongoing Support

Market mapping, real estate and site selection, lease negotiation, architecture and project management; supply chain and local vendor approval; menu and pricing; game layout, selection and buying; operations and ongoing training; marketing, advertising and content creation; financial analysis.

What Chuck E. Cheese franchisees say

We haven't yet heard from enough Chuck E. Cheese franchisees to show anything. We publish totals once 3 or more people who run an outlet have answered and we've called each one to check.

I run a Chuck E. Cheese outlet — share how it went

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the total investment for a Chuck E. Cheese franchise?
An estimated ₹800 lakh–₹1500 lakh. Estimate — FranchiseChuno's own estimate (unit-economics model, Sep 2026), not the brand's figure; see Our Estimates for the reasoning. Chuck E. Cheese doesn't publish its franchise fee or build cost for international markets; it states only minimum liquidity and net worth (see requirements).
What training does Chuck E. Cheese provide?
Team training and grand-opening support; ongoing training, store operations consultation and help with P&L management, budgets and procedures.
Can I open a single Chuck E. Cheese outlet in India?
No. Chuck E. Cheese offers India only as a master or multi-unit territory. The smallest package is 1–5 stores, needing at least US$2.5–3.5M net worth and US$1.5–2.5M in liquid funds.
Does Chuck E. Cheese help finance the franchise?
No. Its international FAQ says it does not offer financing; franchisees are expected to use bank loans or bring in equity partners.
Is any Chuck E. Cheese open in India now?
Not that we could find. CEC's Feb 2026 release names the 16 foreign countries and territories where its franchisees operate, and India is not one of them.
Has the franchisor been through bankruptcy?
Yes. A US bankruptcy court opinion records that CEC Entertainment and its affiliates filed for chapter 11 on 24 June 2020 (case 20-33163, Houston). Public reports say it emerged in December 2020 under new, lender-led ownership.
Can I bring in partners or keep my other businesses?
Yes. The brand allows any number of partners as long as one holds a voting majority and all clear US Patriot Act background checks, and franchisees may run other businesses.

Similar Fitness, Sports & Entertainment Franchises

View All

Interested in

Chuck E. Cheese