F
FranchiseChuno
Sign InCreate AccountList Your Franchise
SIP Abacus

SIP Abacus Franchise

Education & TrainingEst. 2003Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Abacus and mental-maths centres for children from Chennai's SIP Academy; ₹6–10 L incl. ₹2 L fee, 600–800 sq ft, 1,086 centres listed.

SIP Abacus franchise at a glance (terms checked Sept 2026)

Taking franchiseesModels: UnitTerms checked Sept 2026

Investment

₹6 L - ₹10 L

incl. fee · Below the category (typical ₹8.5 L–₹18 L, median ₹12.5 L, 11 verified brands)

Ongoing take

Not published

Franchise fee

₹2 L

Payback

18–30 months*

* Not verified — the brand doesn't publish this; the figure comes from other published sources or FranchiseChuno's estimate (see "Reported elsewhere" and "Our estimates" below). Real numbers can differ.

79Strong · provisionalFranchiseChuno Score · 56% of data verified
  • Legal or regulatory action on record — see Reputation & News
  • Disputes with franchisees: None found (records checked Sep 2026)
  • Profit or loss: Profit of ₹6.4 Cr in FY25
  • Revenue trend: +22% revenue FY24→FY25

Franchisor strength isn't franchisee profit — check real outlet numbers.

Outlets

1,086 verified

Brand claims 1,000

What we couldn't verify

  • • Outlet closures
  • • Franchisee satisfaction
  • • Network growth
  • • Ongoing take

Ask before you sign

  1. Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. Ask for the royalty and any marketing-fund fee, and how they're calculated (on sales or profit).
  3. Ask for the agreement term, renewal fee and exit or transfer terms.

Franchise terms checked against SIP Abacus's official franchise page on 27 Sept 2026. Figures marked * aren't published by the brand — they come from other published sources or our own estimate, and aren't verified.

Investment Breakdown

Per franchisor
Unit franchise fee
₹2 L

Oct 2024 breakdown on the brand's blog; included in the published investment.

Branding (LED board, flange board, TV)
₹50K
Furniture and classroom setup
₹75K
Classroom painting
₹45K
Initial launch and marketing
₹75K
Rental advanceDeposit
₹2 L

Paid to the landlord.

Operating expenses (first 2 months)Working capital
₹1.4 L
Total Investment₹7.85 L

Ongoing charges

Annual fee to SIP · Collected under the franchise agreement per a 2018 CESTAT order; amount not published.Amount not disclosed
Student fees to SIP · Per-student fees collected from franchisees per a 2018 CESTAT order; amount not published.Amount not disclosed

Model your own numbers in our calculator

Open the ROI calculator

* Breakdown as published by SIP Abacus. SIP Abacus confirms 2 charges without disclosing the amount — get it in writing before you pay.

Ways to Partner with SIP Abacus

2 partner models published by the brand. Figures it doesn't publish are left blank.

Unit franchise

Metro-town centre

Investment
₹8 L – ₹10 L
Space
600 sq ft – 800 sq ft
Royalty / margin
Monthly income of over ₹1.25 L within 12–18 months (brand claim)

Includes the franchise fee; building and infrastructure extra.

Unit franchise

Non-metro centre

Investment
₹6 L – ₹8 L
Space
600 sq ft – 800 sq ft
Royalty / margin
About ₹75,000 a month within 12–18 months (brand claim)

Includes the franchise fee; building and infrastructure extra. The enquiry form offers a ₹5–8 L option.

Our Estimates

FranchiseChuno estimate

SIP Abacus doesn't publish these, so here is our best read of the market and how we got there. They are our estimates, not the brand's figures — use them to plan, then confirm the real numbers in writing.

  • Payback for a SIP Abacus centre

    18–30 months*

    SIP's own Oct 2024 breakdown lists start-up items that add up to ₹7.85 lakh (the post states about ₹7.35 lakh; ₹6–10 lakh on the franchise page). Its illustration of ₹80,900 monthly profit assumes 100 enrolled students in a metro and lists only rent, utilities and marketing as costs; SIP itself says it takes 12–18 months to reach that level of income, and trainer pay and the annual and per-student fees it collects (amounts unpublished) come on top. Averaging a slower first year, ₹7–10 lakh is recovered in roughly 18–30 months; non-metro centres earning about ₹75,000 at maturity sit at the longer end.

    Unit-economics model · Sep 2026

Unit Economics

Brand's own figures

How SIP Abacus says an outlet's numbers work. These are illustrations, not guarantees — check them against existing franchisees before you sign.

Metro-town centre

Monthly revenue at 100 enrolled studentsIllustration on the brand's blog, Oct 2024.
₹1.31 L
Monthly expenses (rent, utilities, marketing)
₹50K
Net monthly profit at 100 students
₹81K
Monthly income after 12–18 months"Over ₹1.25 lakhs"; "income" not defined.
₹1.25 L

Non-metro centre

Monthly income after 12–18 months"Around ₹75,000".
₹75K

What SIP Abacus Says You Can Earn

Brand claim

SIP Abacus's own claim — no evidence given. These are not FranchiseChuno's estimates or a promise of earnings; ask existing franchisees what they actually make.

Monthly profit
₹75K – ₹1.25 L

SIP Abacus says franchisees reach a monthly "income" of over ₹1.25 L in metro areas and about ₹75,000 in non-metro areas within 12–18 months; it doesn't define income. Its Oct 2024 blog illustrates ₹1,30,900 monthly revenue and ₹80,900 net profit at 100 enrolled students in a metro, calling it a sample calculation; the ₹50,000 of monthly expenses it lists covers rent, utilities and marketing and doesn't show trainer pay or the annual and per-student fees SIP collects. No payback period is published.

Reputation & News

2 red flags to check

What the press, courts and real franchisees or customers have said about SIP Abacus — summarised by us, with every source linked.

  • Legal / regulatory· Nov 2025

    Suit over a SIP franchisee agreement returned by Calcutta High Court

    In Nov 2025 a plaintiff presented a civil suit against SIP Academy India and others over a franchisee agreement. At the plaintiff's request the court returned the plaint, noting the dispute may be commercial and the agreement appears to have an arbitration clause. Nothing was decided on the merits, and no refiled case was found.

    Source: Calcutta High Court order (Indian Kanoon)
  • Customer view· Jul 2023

    Parents complain of fee changes and withheld certificates

    Two parent complaints on a consumer-complaints site (Feb 2022 and Jul 2023, one naming the Hubli centre) allege that level fees changed without notice and that certificates were withheld after children completed levels. These are unverified individual opinions about specific centres.

    Source: ConsumerComplaints.in
  • In the news· 2022

    Founder profile: Dinesh Victor on building SIP Academy

    An interview profile traces Dinesh Victor's path from IIT Bombay and IIM Ahmedabad through Godrej and ANZ Grindlays to starting SIP Academy India in August 2003. At the time (about 19 years after launch) he put the network at more than 850 franchises in 23 states and said the model helps women become franchisees and trainers.

    Source: CEO Insights India
  • In the news· Nov 2023

    National abacus competition draws 4,700+ children

    SIP Abacus reports that its national-level Abacus Prodigy competition in Hyderabad on 26 November 2023 had over 4,700 participants from across India. The competition runs timed abacus and mental-arithmetic rounds for enrolled students.

    Source: SIP Abacus (events page) (the brand's own site)

What the programme covers

Training elements
Abacus, Brain Gym and speed writing
Delivery
Classroom and online

Source: SIP Abacus FAQ and About pages

Key Terms at SIP Abacus

The clauses that shape day-to-day running and your exit — read these before the fee.

Payments to the brand
Beyond the one-time licence fee, SIP collects annual fees and student fees from franchisees under the franchise agreement (as described in a 2018 CESTAT order).
Other terms
A Calcutta High Court order (Nov 2025) noted that the SIP franchisee agreement appears to contain an arbitration clause.
Other terms
Signage, reception and classroom branding must follow SIP Abacus norms.

Legal & Contract Summary

Key contract terms at a glance — read before you sign.

Agreement Type

Not specified

Contract Duration

—

Renewal Available

—

Territory Exclusivity

—

Non-Compete Clause

—

Exit Clause

—

Who Can Apply for SIP Abacus

Conditions the brand sets for partners, and the licences the business needs.

  • Space: 600–800 sq ft carpet area with two classrooms, a reception and a toiletRequired
  • Location: Commercial or semi-commercial, for access and visibilityPreferred
  • Branding: Signage board, reception and classroom branding as per SIP Abacus normsRequired

About the Brand

Brand USP

A structured abacus, brain-gym and speed-writing programme for children, backed by a 1,000+ centre network and national competitions.

Parent CompanySIP Academy India Pvt. Ltd.
HeadquartersChennai, Tamil Nadu
SIP Abacus is an abacus and mental-arithmetic programme for school children run by SIP Academy India Pvt. Ltd., headquartered in Chennai. The programme was founded in Malaysia in 1999 and launched in India in August 2003; its training combines abacus, brain-gym exercises and speed writing, delivered in classrooms and online. The brand's centre locator lists 1,086 SIP Abacus centres across India (Sep 2026), and it says it has more than 1,000 franchisees and works with over 800 schools a year. A SIP Abacus franchise is a neighbourhood training centre. The brand puts the overall investment at ₹8–10 L in metro towns and ₹6–8 L in non-metro towns, including the franchise fee, with building and infrastructure costs extra. An Oct 2024 cost breakdown on its blog lists a ₹2 L franchise fee, a ₹2 L rental advance and two months' running costs; its items add up to ₹7.85 L, although the post gives the total as about ₹7.35 L. It recommends 600–800 sq ft in a commercial or semi-commercial location with two classrooms, a reception and a toilet, and says most centres open 2–3 months after signing. SIP says franchisees reach a monthly income of over ₹1.25 L in metros and about ₹75,000 elsewhere within 12–18 months — its own figures, not audited results. Tax records show SIP also charges franchisees annual and per-student fees on top of the licence fee, but it doesn't publish those amounts, the agreement term or territory rules. In Nov 2025 a suit over a SIP franchisee agreement was returned by the Calcutta High Court at the plaintiff's request, to be refiled as a commercial matter, as the agreement appears to have an arbitration clause. The company has also contested service-tax and GST demands, and a few parents have complained online about fees and withheld certificates at individual centres. Filings show SIP Academy India had revenue of ₹110.2 Cr and a ₹6.4 Cr profit in FY25 across all its children's programmes — the franchisor's figures, not a centre's, so check real centre numbers with existing franchisees.

Why invest in SIP Abacus?

- 1,086 centres on the brand's own locator and 20+ years in India (launched August 2003) - Published investment of ₹6–8 L (non-metro) and ₹8–10 L (metro) including the franchise fee (₹2 L in its Oct 2024 cost breakdown) - Franchisor SIP Academy India reported FY25 revenue of ₹110.2 Cr and net profit of ₹6.4 Cr in company filings (company-wide, not centre earnings)

SIP Abacus by the Numbers

Source marked on each figure

1,086

Centres on the brand's locator · Sep 2026

Store locator

1,000+

Franchisees · Sep 2026

Brand claim

August 2003

Launched in India

Company filing

11

Countries · Sep 2026

Brand claim

1 million+

Children benefitted · Sep 2026

Brand claim

800+

Schools worked with each year

Brand claim

Cities with Outlets

Show all 65 cities
Visakhapatnam, Andhra PradeshVijayawada, Andhra PradeshGuntur, Andhra PradeshTirupati, Andhra PradeshGuwahati, AssamSilchar, AssamDibrugarh, AssamPatna, BiharGaya, BiharMuzaffarpur, BiharBhagalpur, BiharRaipur, ChhattisgarhBilaspur, ChhattisgarhFaridabad, HaryanaRanchi, JharkhandJamshedpur, JharkhandDhanbad, JharkhandBangalore, KarnatakaMysuru, KarnatakaMangaluru, KarnatakaHubballi, KarnatakaKochi, KeralaThiruvananthapuram, KeralaKozhikode, KeralaBhopal, Madhya PradeshIndore, Madhya PradeshJabalpur, Madhya PradeshMumbai, MaharashtraPune, MaharashtraNagpur, MaharashtraNashik, MaharashtraChhatrapati Sambhajinagar, MaharashtraThane, MaharashtraNavi Mumbai, MaharashtraShillong, MeghalayaBhubaneswar, OdishaCuttack, OdishaLudhiana, PunjabAmritsar, PunjabJalandhar, PunjabMohali, PunjabJaipur, RajasthanUdaipur, RajasthanGangtok, SikkimChennai, Tamil NaduCoimbatore, Tamil NaduMadurai, Tamil NaduTiruchirappalli, Tamil NaduSalem, Tamil NaduHyderabad, TelanganaWarangal, TelanganaAgartala, TripuraNoida, Uttar PradeshAgra, Uttar PradeshGhaziabad, Uttar PradeshMeerut, Uttar PradeshDehradun, UttarakhandKolkata, West BengalSiliguri, West BengalHowrah, West BengalPort Blair, Andaman and Nicobar IslandsChandigarh, ChandigarhSilvassa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDelhi, DelhiPuducherry, Puducherry

Cities with Outlets

65 cities
Has an outlet
Major city, no outlet listed
Click a city to explore

Company Financials

Brand-level, publicly reported

The franchisor's own company health — separate from what a single franchise outlet earns.

Revenue (FY25)

₹110.21 Cr

Net profit (FY25)

₹6.39 Cr

Employees (Apr 2026)

297

Source: Tracxn — SIP Academy India Pvt Ltd, FY25 financials (from company filings)

Source: Tracxn — SIP Academy India, funding and headcount (Sep 2026)

A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.

Company Health Check

What SIP Abacus's franchisor company has filed with the registrar and the courts — the checks a lawyer would run before you sign.

Status with the registrar
Active
Annual filings
Up to date
Last AGM
30 Sep 2024
Paid-up capital
₹5.08 L

Group companies

  • Vista Academy India Pvt LtdSubsidiary · 99%

Source: Tracxn — S I P Academy India Pvt Ltd legal-entity record (MCA filings), read Sep 2026 (checked Dec 2025)

Full company recordsFinancials year by year, registered details, leadership and timelineShow

SIP Abacus Financials Over Time

Figures for the brand, from filed or reported accounts.

FY19
₹41.68 Cr
Profit ₹48.96 L
FY20
₹48.88 Cr▲ 17%
Profit ₹86.84 L
FY23
₹66.32 Cr▲ 36%
Profit ₹1.23 Cr
FY24
₹90.02 Cr▲ 36%
Profit ₹5.73 Cr
FY25
₹110.21 Cr▲ 22%
Profit ₹6.39 Cr

Source: Tracxn — S I P Academy India Pvt Ltd (company filings; all programmes)

A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.

Company Profile

The legal entity behind the brand, its leadership, and its official channels.

Registered name
S I P Academy India Private Limited
Company type
Private Limited
CIN
U80211TN2003PTC051334
Incorporated
5 Aug 2003
Headquarters
Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Leadership

  • DDinesh VictorFounder & Managing Director, SIP Academy India

Social presence

FacebookInstagramYouTube

Company details source: Tracxn — company filings

SIP Abacus Timeline

  1. 1999

    SIP programme founded in Malaysia

    The SIP Abacus programme originated in Malaysia.

  2. Aug 2003

    Launched in India

    SIP Academy India was started in Chennai by Dinesh Victor and launched SIP Abacus in India (company incorporated 5 Aug 2003).

  3. Nov 2023

    National Abacus Prodigy in Hyderabad

    National-level competition with over 4,700 participants.

  4. Sep 2026

    1,086 centres on the locator

    Count of centres on the brand's own locator.

FranchiseChuno Analysis

Our analysis of verified data

How SIP Abacus looks once the numbers are checked side by side.

  • •Investment below the Education & Training medianMidpoint ₹8 L vs a category median of ₹12.5 L across brands on FranchiseChuno.
  • ✓The franchisor company is profitableIts latest filed accounts show a net profit. That's the franchisor's money, not yours: a profitable franchisor doesn't mean its franchisees make money. Check real outlet numbers before you invest.
  • ✓Brand operating for 23 yearsFounded in 2003. The brand doesn't state when franchising began.
  • ✓Outlet claim matches its store locator1,086 outlets on its own store locator (Sep 2026), in line with the 1,000 it claims.
  • !2 red flags in the news or public discussionSee Reputation & News below, and ask the brand to address each one.

Data completeness

64%

  • ✓ Terms checked against the brand's own page
  • ✓ Published investment (not an estimate)
  • ✓ Franchise fee
  • ○ Royalty
  • ○ ROI or payback claim
  • ○ Agreement term
  • ○ Training details
  • ✓ Outlet cities verified
  • ✓ Company financials
  • ✓ Legal entity
  • ✓ News & public opinion checked

Ask Before You Sign

Questions tailored to what SIP Abacus does and doesn't publish.

  1. 1Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. 2Ask for the royalty and any marketing-fund fee, and how they're calculated (on sales or profit).
  3. 3Ask for the agreement term, renewal fee and exit or transfer terms.
  4. 4Ask whether you get an exclusive territory, and how large it is.
  5. 5Ask the brand to respond to each red flag listed under Reputation & News.
  6. 6Have a lawyer review the franchise agreement before paying anything.
  7. 7Visit 2–3 existing outlets and speak to their owners without the brand present.
Running the outletSpace, staff, launch steps, training, support and who does whatShow

Operations Required

What you'll need on the ground to run this franchise day-to-day.

Area Required

600 - 800 sq ft

Staff Needed

—

Setup Time

—

Owner Involvement

—

Best Locations

Not published

Business Type

Not published

Training & Support

What the brand provides to help you launch and run your franchise.

Operations Manual

Step-by-step playbook for running the outlet

Not published

Supply Chain Support

Vendor sourcing, inventory & logistics

Not published

Technology / POS

Billing, inventory, and management software

Not published

Marketing Support

Marketing assistance from the head office and the channel team; signage, reception and classroom branding follow SIP Abacus norms.

Included

Launch Support

Pre-opening setup and grand-opening assistance

Not published

Ongoing Field Support

Regular visits and operational coaching

Not published

Who Does What

Per franchisor

How SIP Abacus splits the work between the brand and you, as the brand describes it.

SIP Abacus

Handled centrally by the brand

  1. 1

    Operations, marketing and training support

    SIP Abacus assists with business operations, marketing and training.

  2. 2

    Channel team

    A dedicated channel team is available for operational and marketing support as needed.

You (franchisee)

Your local responsibilities

  1. 1

    Premises

    Provide 600–800 sq ft in a commercial or semi-commercial location with two classrooms, a reception and a toilet.

  2. 2

    Branding to SIP norms

    Keep the signage board, reception and classroom branding as per SIP Abacus norms.

Ongoing Support

Assistance in marketing, training and business operations, with a dedicated channel team for operational and marketing support.

What SIP Abacus franchisees say

We haven't yet heard from enough SIP Abacus franchisees to show anything. We publish totals once 3 or more people who run an outlet have answered and we've called each one to check.

I run a SIP Abacus outlet — share how it went

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the total investment for a SIP Abacus franchise?
SIP Abacus states an investment of ₹6 lakh–₹10 lakh. SIP Abacus states an overall investment of ₹6–8 L in non-metro towns and ₹8–10 L in metro towns, including the franchise fee, with additional building and infrastructure costs. Its Oct 2024 cost breakdown lists a ₹2 L franchise fee, a ₹2 L rental advance and two months' running costs among items that add up to ₹7.85 L; the post itself states a total of about ₹7.35 L.
How much is the SIP Abacus franchise fee, and is it part of the ₹6–10 lakh?
Yes. SIP Abacus says its ₹6–8 lakh (non-metro) and ₹8–10 lakh (metro) investment includes the franchise fee. Its Oct 2024 cost breakdown lists a unit franchise fee of ₹2 lakh alongside a ₹2 lakh rental advance, ₹1.4 lakh of running costs for two months, and branding, furniture, painting and launch marketing. Those items add up to ₹7.85 lakh, although the post states the total as about ₹7.35 lakh.
Do SIP Abacus franchisees pay SIP anything after opening?
Yes. A 2018 tax-tribunal order describes SIP collecting licensing fees, annual fees and student fees from its franchisees under the franchise agreement. SIP doesn't publish the annual or per-student amounts, so check them in the franchise agreement before signing.
How long does it take to open a SIP Abacus centre?
SIP Abacus says most centres can be operational within 2–3 months of signing the franchise agreement, depending on location, permits and fit-out.
How are disputes between SIP Abacus and a franchisee resolved?
Through arbitration, it appears. In November 2025 the Calcutta High Court returned a suit over a SIP franchisee agreement at the plaintiff's request, noting that the agreement appears to contain an arbitration clause and that the dispute may belong in the commercial division.
What space does a SIP Abacus centre need?
SIP Abacus recommends 600–800 sq ft with two classrooms, a reception and a toilet, preferably in a commercial or semi-commercial location. Signage, reception and classroom branding must follow SIP's norms.

Similar Education & Training Franchises

View All

Interested in

SIP Abacus