F
FranchiseChuno
Sign InCreate AccountList Your Franchise
Pay1

Pay1 Franchise

Business ServicesEst. 2011Mumbai, Maharashtra

Assisted payments and recharge network (4 lakh+ merchants, brand claim). Distributorship est. ₹50,000–₹2 L plus float; retailer fees not stated.

Pay1 franchise at a glance (terms checked Sept 2026)

Dealers / distributors onlyModels: Other · DistributorTerms checked Sept 2026

Investment

₹50K - ₹2 L*

Estimate — not published by the brand

Ongoing take

Commission

Franchise fee

No franchise fee

Payback

Not published

* Not verified — the brand doesn't publish this; the figure comes from other published sources or FranchiseChuno's estimate (see "Reported elsewhere" and "Our estimates" below). Real numbers can differ.

FranchiseChuno ScoreNot scored yet — 40% of data verified
  • Disputes with franchisees: None found (records checked Sep 2026)
  • Profit or loss: Profit of ₹3.4 Cr in FY25
  • Company standing: Active and up to date with the registrar

Franchisor strength isn't franchisee profit — check real outlet numbers.

Outlets

Not published

What we couldn't verify

  • • Outlet closures
  • • Franchisee satisfaction
  • • Outlets we could verify
  • • Outlet claim matches reality

Ask before you sign

  1. Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. Get a written, itemised cost breakdown — the brand hasn't published one.
  3. Ask for every upfront payment in writing — deposit, onboarding, equipment or stock — and which parts are refundable.

Franchise terms checked against Pay1's official Become a Distributor page on 27 Sept 2026. Figures marked * aren't published by the brand — they come from other published sources or our own estimate, and aren't verified.

Ways to Partner with Pay1

2 partner models published by the brand. Figures it doesn't publish are left blank.

Partner model

Retailer

Royalty / margin
Commission on each transaction, per Pay1's rate cards, which it can revise; rates not published
Who it suits
An existing shop — kirana, mobile, stationery, medical, general store, travel agent, paan shop and similar

Pay1's site advertises free sign-up, but its retailer terms provide for a one-time non-refundable setup fee and recurring charges (amounts not stated). Retailers keep a pre-funded e-balance. Pay1 says its merchant app is for retailers registered under a Pay1 distributor.

Distributorship

Distributor

Royalty / margin
Commission; rates not published
Who it suits
—

Recruits and manages retailers via the Distributor1 app, sells service kits, transfers wallet balance and can request a limit from Pay1 that is loaded digitally into the wallet. Investment not published (estimate ₹50,000–₹2 L plus float).

Our Estimates

FranchiseChuno estimate

Pay1 doesn't publish these, so here is our best read of the market and how we got there. They are our estimates, not the brand's figures — use them to plan, then confirm the real numbers in writing.

  • Cash needed to start as a Pay1 distributor

    ₹50,000–₹2 L, mostly as float*

    There is no published franchise fee; the real outlay is the balance a distributor passes on to retailers plus kits and a phone/laptop. A network of 25–50 active shops each holding ₹2,000–4,000 of float needs roughly 25 × ₹2,000 = ₹50,000 to 50 × ₹4,000 = ₹2 L; Pay1's limit facility can reduce this. A Sep 2026 Play Store review by a distributor quotes a Pay1 target of 25 active retailers and ₹5 L of sales volume, consistent with the low end (not verified).

    Unit-economics model · Sep 2026

  • Distributor's cut of retailer transactions

    about 0.25–1% of value transacted*

    Pay1 doesn't publish commissions. In India's assisted-payments (recharge, bill-pay, AePS) networks, distributors typically earn a small override of well under 1% of what their retailers process, while retailers keep most of the commission. Pay1's own thin FY25 margin (0.6% net) leaves little room for fat partner payouts.

    Category benchmark · Sep 2026

Unit Economics

Brand's own figures

How Pay1 says an outlet's numbers work. These are illustrations, not guarantees — check them against existing franchisees before you sign.

Retailer

Retailer earnings Pay1 uses in its marketingPay1's homepage asks 'Do you want to become Pay1 Retailer & earn ₹50,000 per month?' and elsewhere says retailers can earn ₹16,000 extra every month — marketing lines, not stated averages, and not distributor figures.
50,000 INR

Reputation & News

What the press, courts and real franchisees or customers have said about Pay1 — summarised by us, with every source linked.

  • Franchisee view· Sep 2026★ 4/5 · 425 ratings

    Pay1 Distributor app rated 4.0 on Google Play

    The Pay1 Distributor app has 50,000+ downloads and a 4.0-star average from about 425 reviews. A Sep 2026 review quotes what it says is a Pay1 notice to a distributor who started in Mar 2026: Pay1 expected 25 active retailers and ₹5 L of sales volume and set a deadline to improve (not verified). Older reviews include login problems (2022) and a 2024 review calling the app a cheat, to which Pay1 replied offering support.

    Source: Google Play
  • In the news· Sep 2026

    Retailer testimonials published by Pay1

    Pay1's website carries short testimonials from retailers who praise the money-transfer process and new services such as PAN card applications. These are published by the brand, not independently collected.

    Source: Pay1 website (brand-published testimonials) (the brand's own site)
  • Franchisee view· Sep 2026★ 4.2/5 · 12,200 ratings

    Retailer app rated 4.2 on Google Play

    The Pay1 Merchant app used by retailers has more than 10 lakh downloads and a 4.2-star average from about 12,000 reviews. Recent reviews (Aug–Sep 2026) are mostly short and positive; one asks for bank-account opening, another says the balance inquiry sometimes shows incorrectly.

    Source: Google Play

Services a Pay1 outlet can offer

ServiceWhat it covers
Bill payments and rechargesMobile, DTH and utility bills for 150+ companies
Banking servicesAePS cash withdrawal and micro-ATM
Payment servicesUPI/QR, credit and debit cards via mPOS/dPOS, payment links
Travel and e-governanceAir, train and hotel bookings; insurance; PAN card services
Cash collection (Cashdrop)Collecting cash for NBFCs, e-commerce and agriculture firms
Khata managementDigital ledger between distributors and retailers
DhanakBuying quality-checked used phones for resale
Retailer loansLoan facility available for retailers

Source: Pay1 website

Distributor contest: Business ka Badshah

Pay1 runs a milestone contest for its distributors.

Top prizes
Maruti S-Presso car, 350 cc Bullet motorcycle, couple's international trip
Milestone gifts
₹25,000, ₹10,000 and ₹3,000 for distributors who reach set milestones

Source: Pay1 Become a Distributor page

Key Terms at Pay1

The clauses that shape day-to-day running and your exit — read these before the fee.

Payments to the brand
Distributors transfer wallet balance to their retailers and can request a limit from Pay1, which is loaded digitally into their wallet.
Retailers pay a one-time non-refundable setup fee and recurring charges as communicated by Pay1 (amounts not stated); commissions follow Pay1's rate cards and may be revised. Retailers must keep a pre-funded e-balance of a minimum amount Pay1 sets.
Non-compete
Exclusivity: during the engagement a retailer may not deal with any third party offering identical, similar or competing services, and the shop may be used only for Pay1 services.
Exit
Pay1 can end a retailer's engagement on 15 days' written notice without giving a reason, or immediately for listed defaults; the retailer needs 30 days' notice and has no right to compensation on termination.
Penalties
On an event of default Pay1 may recover liquidated damages of ₹10 L per instance and set off fines or penalties against dues owed to the retailer.
Other terms
Disputes go first to 30 days of discussion, then to the exclusive jurisdiction of courts in Mumbai; Indian law governs. No arbitration clause.

Legal & Contract Summary

Key contract terms at a glance — read before you sign.

Agreement Type

Distributorship

You supply retailers in your territory

Contract Duration

—

Renewal Available

—

Territory Exclusivity

—

Non-Compete Clause

—

Exit Clause

—

About the Brand

Brand USP

A single app that turns a local shop into a recharge, bill-payment and mini-banking point, with a distributor layer to manage retailers.

HeadquartersMumbai, Maharashtra
Pay1 is a Mumbai-based assisted digital-services platform run by Mindsarray Network Private Limited; Tracxn dates the brand to 2011 and the current operating company was incorporated in 2019. Through its app, neighbourhood shops such as kiranas, mobile shops and chemists offer mobile and DTH recharges, bill payments for 150+ billers, Aadhaar-enabled cash withdrawal (AePS) and micro-ATM, UPI and card payments, travel bookings, insurance, PAN services and cash collection. Pay1's marketing pages say it has 4 lakh+ merchants in 2,300+ cities (its terms of use say 1,000+ cities). Filings show revenue growing from ₹341.8 Cr in FY21 to ₹555.1 Cr in FY25, when it turned a ₹3.42 Cr profit after years of small losses. There are two ways in. A Pay1 retailer is a shop that earns a commission on each transaction; Pay1's site advertises free sign-up, but its retailer terms of use provide for a one-time non-refundable setup fee and recurring charges, with no amount stated. The site also asks shopkeepers whether they want to earn ₹50,000 a month — a marketing line, not an average. A Pay1 distributor recruits and manages retailers through the Distributor1 app — keeping a khata, tracking performance, selling service kits and transferring wallet balance — and can request a limit from Pay1 that is loaded digitally into the wallet. Pay1's distributor page describes a contest with prizes up to a car. What to watch: Pay1 doesn't publish distributor investment, commission rates, territory or agreement terms; the ₹50,000–₹2 L here is our estimate, and distributors also need working capital for the balance they pass on to retailers. One distributor's Sep 2026 Play Store review quotes a Pay1 notice expecting 25 active retailers and ₹5 L of sales volume (not verified). The retailer terms are one-sided: an exclusivity clause bars dealing with competing platforms, Pay1 can end the engagement on 15 days' notice without reason, and each default can attract liquidated damages of ₹10 L. The franchisor's margins are thin (₹3.4 Cr profit on ₹555 Cr revenue in FY25), which says nothing about what a distributor earns — check with existing distributors. Court records show the company challenging a 2023 cyber-crime police notice and filing a batch of 2023 writ petitions against the Union of India whose subject isn't stated in the published orders.

Why invest in Pay1?

- Operating company's revenue grew from ₹341.8 Cr (FY21) to ₹555.1 Cr (FY25), with a first sizeable profit of ₹3.42 Cr in FY25 (filings) - One app covers recharges, bill payments, AePS/micro-ATM, UPI and card payments, travel, insurance and PAN services - Pay1 Merchant app rated 4.2 from about 12,200 reviews on Google Play, with 10 lakh+ downloads (Sep 2026)

Pay1 by the Numbers

Source marked on each figure

4 lakh+

Merchants · Sep 2026

Brand claim

2,300+ (marketing pages); 1,000+ (Pay1 terms of use)

Cities · Sep 2026

Brand claim

150+ companies for recharges and bill payments

Billers covered · Sep 2026

Brand claim

10 lakh+ downloads, 4.2★ from about 12,200 reviews

Merchant app · Sep 2026

Independent

Advertised as free; Pay1's retailer terms provide for a one-time non-refundable setup fee and recurring charges (amounts not stated)

Retailer sign-up · Sep 2026

Brand claim

Company Financials

Brand-level, publicly reported

The franchisor's own company health — separate from what a single franchise outlet earns.

Revenue (FY25)

₹555.1 Cr

Net profit (FY25)

₹3.42 Cr

Total funding raised

$33K+

Employees (May 2026)

508

Notable investors

Alakh Naresh GargiyaStartup ReseauRajiv SinhaTanuj GoyalUtsav Agarwal

Source: Tracxn — Pay1 (Mindsarray Network Private Limited), FY25 financials (from company filings)

Source: Tracxn — Pay1, funding and headcount (Sep 2026)

A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.

Company Health Check

What Pay1's franchisor company has filed with the registrar and the courts — the checks a lawyer would run before you sign.

Status with the registrar
Active
Last AGM
20 Aug 2025
Pending cases against it
0
Pending cases it filed
6
Paid-up capital
₹5.01 Cr
Auditor
Suchita Angane & Associates

Group companies

  • Mindsarray Technologies Pvt LtdGroup company

Source: Tracxn — MCA master data for Mindsarray Network Pvt Ltd (paid-up capital as of 8 May 2026; 6 open registered charges totalling ₹1.51 Cr — registered charges, not a measure of debt; pending-case counts as tracked by Tracxn; registrar compliance flag not returned) (checked May 2026)

Full company recordsFinancials year by year, registered details, leadership and timelineShow

Pay1 Financials Over Time

Figures for the brand, from filed or reported accounts.

FY20
₹128.6 Cr
Loss ₹1.2 Cr
FY21
₹341.84 Cr▲ 166%
Loss ₹1.37 Cr
FY22
₹357.08 Cr▲ 4%
Loss ₹39.03 L
FY23
₹396.58 Cr▲ 11%
Loss ₹66.88 L
FY24
₹508.49 Cr▲ 28%
Profit ₹30.47 L
FY25
₹555.1 Cr▲ 9%
Profit ₹3.42 Cr

Source: Tracxn — Mindsarray Network Pvt Ltd filings (MCA); FY20 is a part year (17 Jul 2019–31 Mar 2020) · Tracxn — Mindsarray Network Pvt Ltd filings (MCA)

A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.

Company Profile

The legal entity behind the brand, its leadership, and its official channels.

Registered name
Mindsarray Network Private Limited
Company type
Private Limited
CIN
U51909MH2019PTC328157
Incorporated
17 Jul 2019
Headquarters
Mumbai, Maharashtra

Leadership

  • CChirutha DalalCo-founder & COO
  • AAshish AryaCo-founder & CTO

Social presence

FacebookLinkedInYouTubeApp

Company details source: Tracxn — company filings

Pay1 Timeline

  1. 17 Jul 2007

    Mindsarray Technologies Pvt Ltd incorporated

    Earlier group entity; now largely inactive (FY24 revenue nil).

    Source
  2. 2011

    Pay1 founded

    Source
  3. Mar 2014

    Angel round of about $33,000

    Led by Alakh Naresh Gargiya.

    Source
  4. 17 Jul 2019

    Mindsarray Network Pvt Ltd incorporated

    Current operating company behind Pay1.

    Source
  5. FY25

    Revenue of ₹555.10 Cr

    Net profit ₹3.42 Cr (Mindsarray Network).

    Source

FranchiseChuno Analysis

Our analysis of verified data

How Pay1 looks once the numbers are checked side by side.

  • ✓The franchisor company is profitableIts latest filed accounts show a net profit. That's the franchisor's money, not yours: a profitable franchisor doesn't mean its franchisees make money. Check real outlet numbers before you invest.
  • ✓Brand operating for 15 yearsFounded in 2011. The brand doesn't state when franchising began.

Data completeness

45%

  • ✓ Terms checked against the brand's own page
  • ○ Published investment (not an estimate)
  • ○ Franchise fee
  • ○ Royalty
  • ○ ROI or payback claim
  • ○ Agreement term
  • ✓ Training details
  • ○ Outlet cities verified
  • ✓ Company financials
  • ✓ Legal entity
  • ✓ News & public opinion checked

Ask Before You Sign

Questions tailored to what Pay1 does and doesn't publish.

  1. 1Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
  2. 2Get a written, itemised cost breakdown — the brand hasn't published one.
  3. 3Ask for every upfront payment in writing — deposit, onboarding, equipment or stock — and which parts are refundable.
  4. 4Ask exactly how your margin or commission is calculated, when it's paid, and whether the brand can change it.
  5. 5Ask for the agreement term, renewal fee and exit or transfer terms.
  6. 6Ask whether you get an exclusive territory, and how large it is.
  7. 7Have a lawyer review the franchise agreement before paying anything.
  8. 8Visit 2–3 existing outlets and speak to their owners without the brand present.
Running the outletSpace, staff, launch steps, training, support and who does whatShow

Operations Required

What you'll need on the ground to run this franchise day-to-day.

Area Required

—

Staff Needed

—

Setup Time

—

Owner Involvement

—

Best Locations

Not published

Business Type

Not published

Training & Support

What the brand provides to help you launch and run your franchise.

Operations Manual

Step-by-step playbook for running the outlet

Not published

Supply Chain Support

Vendor sourcing, inventory & logistics

Not published

Technology / POS

Billing, inventory, and management software

Not published

Marketing Support

National & local marketing campaigns

Not included

Launch Support

Pre-opening setup and grand-opening assistance

Not published

Ongoing Field Support

Regular visits and operational coaching

Not published

Training Programme

Pay1 lists 24x7 support and training for distributors.

Ongoing Support

Distributor1 app for retailer khata (ledger) management, retailer performance tracking, buying and selling service kits, transferring balance to retailers and requesting a limit from Pay1 that is loaded digitally into the wallet.

What Pay1 franchisees say

We haven't yet heard from enough Pay1 franchisees to show anything. We publish totals once 3 or more people who run an outlet have answered and we've called each one to check.

I run a Pay1 outlet — share how it went

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the total investment for a Pay1 franchise?
An estimated ₹0.5 lakh–₹2 lakh. Estimate — Pay1 does not publish distributor investment; distributors also need working capital for the pre-funded balance they pass on to retailers.
What training does Pay1 provide?
Pay1 lists 24x7 support and training for distributors.
Does it cost anything to become a Pay1 retailer?
Pay1's site advertises free retailer sign-up, but its retailer terms of use say a retailer pays a one-time non-refundable setup fee and recurring charges as communicated by Pay1, without stating amounts. Retailers also keep a pre-funded balance and earn commission on each transaction.
What does a Pay1 distributor actually do?
A distributor recruits and manages a network of Pay1 retailers using the Distributor1 app: keeping a khata of each shop, tracking which retailers perform, selling service kits and transferring wallet balance. Distributors can request a limit from Pay1 that is loaded digitally into their wallet.
Can a Pay1 retailer really earn ₹50,000 a month?
That figure is a marketing question on Pay1's homepage ('Do you want to become Pay1 Retailer & earn ₹50,000 per month?'), not a stated average; elsewhere the same page mentions ₹16,000 extra a month. Pay1 doesn't publish commission rates, so actual earnings depend on footfall and which services a shop sells.
Is Pay1's operating company profitable?
Filings for Mindsarray Network Pvt Ltd show FY25 revenue of ₹555.1 Cr and a net profit of ₹3.42 Cr, after small losses in FY20–FY23. The margin is thin: about 0.6% of revenue.
Does Pay1 have any legal disputes?
Court records show Mindsarray Network challenged a Rajkot cyber-crime police notice in 2023 (withdrawn to pursue elsewhere, including the Gujarat High Court) and filed a batch of writ petitions against the Union of India in 2023. The published orders don't state their subject; in Aug 2025 they were still unregistered and given a last chance till 26 Aug 2025, and no later order is published. Tracxn counts 6 pending cases with the company as petitioner and none against it.
What do Pay1's retailer terms bind a shop to?
Pay1's terms of use for retailers include an exclusivity clause (no dealing with competing platforms), termination by Pay1 on 15 days' notice without reason (30 days for the retailer, with no compensation), liquidated damages of ₹10 L per default, and the exclusive jurisdiction of Mumbai courts. Pay1 doesn't publish separate distributor terms.

Similar Business Services Franchises

View All

Interested in

Pay1