
Hitachi Money Spot ATM Franchise
RBI-authorised white-label ATM franchise, 10,200+ ATMs. From ₹2 L; shop-in-shop 6×6 ft or full shop 8×10 ft; installed in 21 days.
Hitachi Money Spot ATM franchise at a glance (terms checked Sept 2026)
Investment
₹2 L - ₹3.5 L*
Estimate — not published by the brand
Ongoing take
Commission
Franchise fee
No franchise fee
Security deposit (set in the agreement) applies (amount not disclosed) · Security amount applies (amount not disclosed)
Payback
Not published
* Not verified — the brand doesn't publish this; the figure comes from other published sources or FranchiseChuno's estimate (see "Reported elsewhere" and "Our estimates" below). Real numbers can differ.
- Legal or regulatory action on record — see Reputation & News
- Disputes with franchisees: None found (records checked Sep 2026)
- Profit or loss: Profit of ₹164.6 Cr in FY25
- Revenue trend: +20% revenue FY24→FY25
Franchisor strength isn't franchisee profit — check real outlet numbers.
Outlets
10,200 (brand claim)
What we couldn't verify
- • Outlet closures
- • Franchisee satisfaction
- • Outlets we could verify
- • Outlet claim matches reality
Ask before you sign
- Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
- Get a written, itemised cost breakdown — the brand hasn't published one.
- Ask for every upfront payment in writing — deposit, onboarding, equipment or stock — and which parts are refundable.
Franchise terms checked against Hitachi Money Spot ATM's official franchisee page on 27 Sept 2026. Figures marked * aren't published by the brand — they come from other published sources or our own estimate, and aren't verified.
Investment Breakdown
Per franchisorPaid on signing; amount and refund terms not published. Hitachi says the minimum investment is ₹2 L.
Paid before the agreement; amount not published.
Hitachi Money Spot ATM doesn't disclose the amount of any of these charges.
Model your own numbers in our calculator
Open the ROI calculator* Breakdown as published by Hitachi Money Spot ATM. Hitachi Money Spot ATM confirms 2 charges without disclosing the amount — get it in writing before you pay.
Ways to Partner with Hitachi Money Spot ATM
2 partner models published by the brand. Figures it doesn't publish are left blank.
ATM site franchisee
- Investment
- ₹2 L+
- Space
- 36 sq ft – 80 sq ft
- Royalty / margin
- Per-transaction payout from Hitachi (rate not published)
- Territory
- —
- Who it suits
- Owns or rents a shop or shop-in-shop meeting the site specs; site approved after Hitachi's due diligence
Hitachi installs the ATM; franchisee provides space, signage space and power and pays the security deposit set in the agreement.
Master franchisee
- Investment
- —
- Space
- —
- Royalty / margin
- Not published
- Territory
- Builds and manages a network of ATM sites in its area
- Who it suits
- Basic knowledge of the area's demography, ATM site sourcing and managing franchisee business needs
Pays a security amount before signing; court records show master franchisees also handle cash loading.
Reported Elsewhere
Not verifiedHitachi Money Spot ATM doesn't publish these figures. Other sources have reported them, so they're here to give you a rough idea only. They may be out of date or wrong, and the real numbers can differ a lot — get them from the brand in writing before you decide.
- ATM interchange fee per cash withdrawal (paid to the ATM operator, not the franchisee)Reported by DD News, Mar 2025 · This is what the ATM operator (Hitachi) earns per off-us transaction; the franchisee's share is set in its agreement and not published.
- ₹19 per cash withdrawal; ₹7 per balance enquiry, from 1 May 2025*
Our Estimates
FranchiseChuno estimateHitachi Money Spot ATM doesn't publish these, so here is our best read of the market and how we got there. They are our estimates, not the brand's figures — use them to plan, then confirm the real numbers in writing.
Franchisee's monthly payout from one Money Spot ATM
₹9,000–30,000 a month*
Assumes 60–120 cash withdrawals a day at a semi-urban site and a franchisee share of roughly ₹5–8 out of the ₹19 interchange the operator earns per withdrawal. Hitachi publishes neither the payout rate nor typical volumes; busy market sites can do more, weak sites much less. Electricity and shop costs come out of this.
Unit-economics model · Sep 2026
Cash needed to host one ATM site
₹2–3.5 L*
Hitachi's published ₹2 L minimum (it doesn't break this down; the security deposit set in the agreement is the only payment its onboarding steps name) plus shop readiness — flooring, partition, signage mounting, earthing and a 1 KVA power line — of about ₹0.2–1.5 L. Hitachi supplies and installs the ATM (court orders show the machines remain Hitachi's), so machine cost is not the franchisee's.
Analyst judgement · Sep 2026
Reputation & News
2 red flags to checkWhat the press, courts and real franchisees or customers have said about Hitachi Money Spot ATM — summarised by us, with every source linked.
- In the news· Jan 2026
Hitachi cash-loading staff accused of vanishing with ₹1.3 Cr in Bengaluru
A Hitachi Payment Services officer filed a police complaint in Bengaluru's Koramangala alleging that six employees disappeared with more than ₹1.3 Cr meant for loading SBI and Axis Bank ATMs, and police began a search. The case concerns Hitachi's cash-logistics staff and bank ATMs, not Money Spot franchisees.
Source: NewsFirst Prime - Legal / regulatory· Nov 2025
Petition alleged Hitachi withheld amounts (2025)
Two Krishnagiri residents, naming Hitachi and a local Hitachi master franchisee, asked the Madras High Court to direct the RBI to inquire into an alleged fund mismatch and withholding and non-reimbursement of amounts by Hitachi. They withdrew the petition in Nov 2025 to go to a civil court; nothing was decided.
Source: Madras High Court order via Indian Kanoon - In the news· Mar 2024
Hitachi crosses 10,000 white-label ATMs
Hitachi Payment Services announced it had deployed 10,000 white-label ATMs, 27% of them in South India, across 28 states and 6 UTs, and said it was the only WLA operator offering cash deposits. The article reproduces the company's announcement.
Source: PinKerala - Legal / regulatory· Jul 2026
Hitachi pursues franchisees over ATM cash shortfalls
Court orders show Hitachi filed police complaints against master franchisees over missing ATM cash — about ₹1.16 Cr in Tamil Nadu (settled in 2023 for ₹69.3 L plus ₹40 L; Hitachi withdrew its allegations and took back its ATMs) and ₹43.4 L in Uttar Pradesh (Hitachi terminated the agreement and forfeited the deposit; FIR upheld in Jul 2026). Franchisees who load cash carry that liability.
Source: Allahabad High Court order via Indian Kanoon
Show 2 moreShow fewer
- regulatory· Aug 2026
Online payment aggregator licence surrendered (WLA licence unaffected)
The RBI's list shows Hitachi's online payment aggregator authorisation as cancelled on voluntary surrender on 31 Aug 2026. Its white-label ATM authorisation ('Money Spot') remains listed.
Source: Reserve Bank of India — authorised entities list - Franchisee view· Sep 2026
Franchisee testimonials published by Hitachi
Hitachi's franchise pages quote a Mumbai master franchisee who says he grew to managing 100+ ATMs and praises onboarding and the payout cycle. A Kandivali franchisee praises the support team. The brand published these testimonials; they were not independently collected.
Source: Hitachi Money Spot ATM (brand-published testimonials) (the brand's own site)
Services at a Hitachi Money Spot ATM
- Cash withdrawal for customers of all banks
- Balance enquiry and mini statement
- Cash deposit (select banks and locations)
- PIN change
- Card-to-card transfer
- Cheque book and statement requests
- UPI cardless cash withdrawal (select locations)
Source: Hitachi Money Spot ATM services page
RBI rules for white-label ATMs
- White-label ATMs are set up, owned and operated by non-bank entities authorised by the RBI under the Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007
- The RBI publishes the list of authorised WLA operators; Hitachi Payment Services is listed for WLAs 'known as Money Spot', authorised 25.11.2013
- A WLA operator must be a company incorporated in India with a net worth of at least ₹100 Cr, maintained at all times (2012 guidelines)
- The operator, not the site franchisee, holds the RBI authorisation — check the operator's name on the RBI list before paying anyone
- Advertisements on WLA screens are allowed but must follow ASCI codes and disappear once a customer starts a transaction
- Cards issued by any bank in India can be used at any WLA; for customers, a WLA works like any bank's ATM
Source: Reserve Bank of India — WLA guidelines, FAQ and authorised-operator list
Key Terms at Hitachi Money Spot ATM
The clauses that shape day-to-day running and your exit — read these before the fee.
- Stock & returns
- Under Hitachi's Master Franchise Service Agreement, as quoted in a July 2026 Allahabad High Court order, the master franchise agent acts as custodian of the ATM/CRM and trustee of the cash in it, replenishes the machine with cash withdrawn from a designated bank account opened in its own name, must never remove cash for personal use, keeps the site camera working and assists first-level maintenance.
- Exit
- On terminating a master franchise agreement, Hitachi reserved the right to recover its dues, compensation, damages and losses (Allahabad High Court order, Jul 2026).
- Payments to the brand
- The franchisee pays the security deposit stated in the agreement to Hitachi when the agreement is signed.
- Penalties
- Using cash from any source other than the designated bank account is a material breach: Hitachi may terminate the agreement at once and forfeit the security deposit without notice (clause 1(o), as quoted by the Allahabad High Court, Jul 2026). In that case Hitachi terminated the agreements and forfeited the deposit in Feb 2026.
- Other terms
- Disputes under the agreement go to arbitration (clause 20(e)); the franchisee's counsel told the court the sole arbitrator is appointed by Hitachi. The court held the clause does not stop Hitachi filing a criminal complaint (Allahabad High Court, Jul 2026).
Legal & Contract Summary
Key contract terms at a glance — read before you sign.
Agreement Type
Not specifiedContract Duration
—Renewal Available
—Territory Exclusivity
—Non-Compete Clause
—Exit Clause
—Who Can Apply for Hitachi Money Spot ATM
Conditions the brand sets for partners, and the licences the business needs.
- Full shop: At least 8 ft wide × 10 ft deepPreferred
- Shop-in-shop: At least 6 ft wide × 6 ft deepPreferred
- Signage space: 8 ft wide × 3 ft high, plus a 2 ft × 2 ft lollipop/flange signRequired
- Roof space for VSAT dish: 6 ft × 6 ftRequired
- Electricity: Single-phase connection, minimum 1 KVARequired
- Local knowledge: Area demography, ATM site sourcing, managing franchiseesRequired
Licences & registrations
| Licence | Issued by | Who gets it |
|---|---|---|
| RBI authorisation to operate white-label ATMs (Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007)Held by Hitachi Payment Services ('Money Spot', 25 Nov 2013), not by the franchisee. | Reserve Bank of India | The brand |
About the Brand
Brand USP
An RBI-authorised white-label ATM network that lets a shop owner host a bank-agnostic ATM in as little as 6×6 ft.
Why invest in Hitachi Money Spot ATM?
Hitachi Money Spot ATM by the Numbers
Source marked on each figure10,200+
White-label ATMs · Sep 2026
Brand claimAbout 7,100
Franchisees · Sep 2026
Brand claim31 states & UTs, 519 districts, 4,350+ towns
Reach · Sep 2026
Brand claimOver 75%
ATMs in semi-urban and rural areas · Sep 2026
Brand claimWhite-label ATM operator ('Money Spot') since 25 Nov 2013
RBI authorisation · Sep 2026
Company filingWithin 21 days of verification
Installation
Brand claimCompany Financials
Brand-level, publicly reportedThe franchisor's own company health — separate from what a single franchise outlet earns.
Revenue (FY25)
₹3215.75 Cr
Net profit (FY25)
₹164.64 Cr
Employees (Aug 2026)
2,843
Source: Tracxn — Hitachi Payment Services, FY25 financials (from company filings)
Source: Tracxn — Hitachi Payment Services, funding and headcount (Sep 2026)
A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.
Company Health Check
What Hitachi Money Spot ATM's franchisor company has filed with the registrar and the courts — the checks a lawyer would run before you sign.
- Status with the registrar
- Active
- Annual filings
- Up to date
- Last AGM
- 30 Sep 2025
- Paid-up capital
- ₹7.92 Cr
- Auditor
- S.R. Batliboi & Co. LLP
Group companies
- Hitachi Digital Services India Pvt LtdHolding company · 58.8%
- Hitachi, Ltd. (Japan)Holding company
- SBI Payment Services Pvt LtdJoint venture · 26%
- Hitachi Cash Management Services Pvt LtdSubsidiary · 100%
Source: Tracxn — MCA filings for Hitachi Payment Services Pvt Ltd (compliance status as of 10 Dec 2025; pulled 27 Sep 2026) (checked Dec 2025)
Full company recordsFinancials year by year, registered details, leadership and timelineShowHide
Hitachi Money Spot ATM Financials Over Time
Figures for the brand, from filed or reported accounts.
Source: Tracxn — Hitachi Payment Services Pvt Ltd (MCA filings; whole company, not WLA only)
A profitable franchisor doesn't mean profitable franchisees. These are the company's numbers, not an outlet's. A franchisor can grow on fees and supplies while outlets struggle — talk to existing franchisees and see their accounts before you decide.
Company Profile
The legal entity behind the brand, its leadership, and its official channels.
- Registered name
- Hitachi Payment Services Private Limited
- Company type
- Private Limited
- CIN
- U72100TN2005PTC057463
- Incorporated
- 12 Sep 2005
- Headquarters
- Mumbai, Maharashtra
Leadership
- SSumil VikamseyManaging Director & CEO – Cash Business
- AAnuj KhoslaCEO – Digital Business
- SSanthosh NairDirector, Operations – Cash Business
Social presence
Company details source: Tracxn — company filings
Hitachi Money Spot ATM Timeline
2005
Integrated Maintenance and Services (IMAS) incorporated
Legal entity incorporated 12 Sep 2005.
Source2008
Prizm Payment Services founded
IMAS business merged into Prizm; Mumbai office set up.
Source2013
RBI white-label ATM licence
Authorised as a WLA operator on 25 Nov 2013.
Source2014
Hitachi acquires Prizm Payment Services
Source2015
Renamed Hitachi Payment Services
Source2021
Crosses 5,000 WLA deployments
Source2023
Unveils India's first UPI ATM
Android-based, cardless UPI cash withdrawal.
Source2024
Crosses 10,000 WLA deployments
Hitachi also acquired Writer Corporation's cash management business that year.
Source
FranchiseChuno Analysis
Our analysis of verified dataHow Hitachi Money Spot ATM looks once the numbers are checked side by side.
- ✓The franchisor company is profitableIts latest filed accounts show a net profit. That's the franchisor's money, not yours: a profitable franchisor doesn't mean its franchisees make money. Check real outlet numbers before you invest.
- ✓Brand operating for 18 yearsFounded in 2008. The brand doesn't state when franchising began.
- !2 red flags in the news or public discussionSee Reputation & News below, and ask the brand to address each one.
Data completeness
36%
- ✓ Terms checked against the brand's own page
- ○ Published investment (not an estimate)
- ○ Franchise fee
- ○ Royalty
- ○ ROI or payback claim
- ○ Agreement term
- ○ Training details
- ○ Outlet cities verified
- ✓ Company financials
- ✓ Legal entity
- ✓ News & public opinion checked
Ask Before You Sign
Questions tailored to what Hitachi Money Spot ATM does and doesn't publish.
- 1Speak to at least 3 franchisees who have run an outlet for 2+ years and see their actual monthly sales and profit — a franchisor making money doesn't mean its franchisees do.
- 2Get a written, itemised cost breakdown — the brand hasn't published one.
- 3Ask for every upfront payment in writing — deposit, onboarding, equipment or stock — and which parts are refundable.
- 4Ask exactly how your margin or commission is calculated, when it's paid, and whether the brand can change it.
- 5Ask for the agreement term, renewal fee and exit or transfer terms.
- 6Ask whether you get an exclusive territory, and how large it is.
- 7Ask the brand to respond to each red flag listed under Reputation & News.
- 8Have a lawyer review the franchise agreement before paying anything.
- 9Visit 2–3 existing outlets and speak to their owners without the brand present.
Running the outletSpace, staff, launch steps, training, support and who does whatShowHide
Operations Required
What you'll need on the ground to run this franchise day-to-day.
Area Required
36 sq ft
Staff Needed
—
Setup Time
21 days
Owner Involvement
—
Best Locations
Not published
Business Type
Not published
From First Call to Launch
~3 weeksHitachi Money Spot ATM's onboarding process, step by step.
- 1
Submit details
Hitachi's team starts due diligence, including a site visit.
- 2
Selection
The site is approved after evaluation.
- 3
Sign the agreement
The agreement is signed between Hitachi Payment Services and the franchisee.
- 4
Pay the security deposit
The deposit amount is set in the agreement.
- 5
Onboarding and installation
Onboarding completes once the deposit and agreement are done; Hitachi says the ATM is installed in 21 days.
Training & Support
What the brand provides to help you launch and run your franchise.
Operations Manual
Step-by-step playbook for running the outlet
Supply Chain Support
Vendor sourcing, inventory & logistics
Technology / POS
Billing, inventory, and management software
Marketing Support
National & local marketing campaigns
Launch Support
Pre-opening setup and grand-opening assistance
Ongoing Field Support
Regular visits and operational coaching
Who Does What
Per franchisorHow Hitachi Money Spot ATM splits the work between the brand and you, as the brand describes it.
Hitachi Money Spot ATM
Handled centrally by the brand
- 1
Due diligence and site approval
Hitachi evaluates the applicant and visits and approves the site.
- 2
ATM installation and operation
Hitachi, as the RBI-authorised operator, installs the ATM and provides 24x7 franchisee support.
You (franchisee)
Your local responsibilities
- 1
Space and utilities
Provide a full shop (8×10 ft) or shop-in-shop (6×6 ft), signage space, roof space for VSAT and a 1 KVA single-phase power connection.
- 2
Security deposit
Pay the security deposit specified in the franchise agreement.
Ongoing Support
What Hitachi Money Spot ATM franchisees say
We haven't yet heard from enough Hitachi Money Spot ATM franchisees to show anything. We publish totals once 3 or more people who run an outlet have answered and we've called each one to check.
I run a Hitachi Money Spot ATM outlet — share how it wentFrequently Asked Questions
What is the total investment for a Hitachi Money Spot ATM franchise?
Who loads cash into a Hitachi Money Spot ATM?
Who holds the RBI licence — me or Hitachi?
How much space and power does a site need?
Is the security deposit refundable?
Have franchisees had disputes with Hitachi?
Similar Business Services Franchises
View AllInterested in
Hitachi Money Spot ATM

